Word from the artistic director

Central Africa, ca. 1,000,000 B.C.E.

As far as we can delve into our collective memory, it seems that human beings first demonstrated their capacity for intelligence and emotion by means of ritualized body movements, which anthropologists consider to pre-date the invention of spoken language. Our distant ancestors developed a whole series of coded gestures that enabled them to exchange information which was their prime means of survival in a world, that on the whole, was rather cruel: Where are the tigers? How deep is the river at this point? And so on.

Rhythm, by use of percussive sound, was also destined to completely govern the spoken word, because the expression of ideas and emotions required varying cadences. According to the nature of the comments, this might be urgent, irascible, funny or of a sexual nature, and the use of modulated sound (in the low, medium or high registers) as an additional communication component, led directly to chanting and rhythmic singing. From there, it was no more than a short step to reach Noces de Figaro! Music was born…

Montreal (Quebec), Canada, February 21st to March 3rd, 2013 C.E.

For its sixth edition, the Montreal/New Music festival (MNM) specifically celebrates voice and percussion, the two fundamental and inseparable poles of musical expression, through more than 50 events performed over 10 days. The MNM festival will also take advantage of the opportunity to highlight the 100th anniversary of Igor Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring, rightfully considered as “Year 1” of the “modern” musical era, as well as the 30th anniversary of the death of Claude Vivier. We shall hear and see more than 28 groups (including 5 from France, Germany and Japan), orchestras, choirs and soloists, approximately 57 composers as well as 25 premieres!

All this has been made possible thanks to our main donors—at the federal, provincial and municipal governmental levels— our major festival partner Place des Arts, and particularly our numerous faithful collaborators in the creative music sphere. This will doubtless be a “memorable” adventure to which we invite everyone!

Enjoy the festival!

Walter Boudreau, February 33, 2013

Afrique centrale, ca. 1 000 000 av. J.-C.

D’aussi loin que l’on puisse retourner dans notre mémoire collective, il semble que l’humain ait d’abord manifesté son intelligence et ses émotions au moyen d’une gestuelle ritualisée que l’anthropologie estime antérieure à l’invention du langage parlé. Nos lointains ancêtres ont développé toute une série de gestes codés par lesquels ils ont pu s’échanger des informations de toute première nécessité quant à leur survie dans un monde, somme toute, assez cruel: Où sont les tigres? La rivière est-elle profonde à cet endroit? Et ainsi de suite.

Le rythme, par l’utilisation des sons percussifs, allait aussi gouverner la parole en maître absolu, puisque l’expression des idées et des émotions nécessitait des débits différents. Suivant le caractère des propos, qu’ils soient de nature urgente, colérique, drôle ou sexuelle, l’utilisation du son modulé (sons graves, moyens ou aigus), comme registre supplémentaire de communication, a mené droit au chant scandé et rythmé. De là, il ne restait plus qu’un petit pas à franchir pour en arriver aux Noces de Figaro! La musique était née…

Montréal (Québec), Canada, 21 février au 3 mars 2013 apr. J.-C.

Pour sa sixième édition, le festival Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques (MNM) se propose justement de célébrer la voix et la percussion, ces deux pôles fondamentaux et inséparables de l’expression musicale, à travers plus de 50 événements répartis sur 10 jours. Le festival MNM en profitera également pour souligner le 100e anniversaire de la création du Sacre du printemps d’Igor Stravinsky, considéré à juste titre comme l’an 1 de l’ère «moderne» musicale, ainsi que le 30e anniversaire du décès de Claude Vivier. On y entendra et verra plus de 28 ensembles (dont 5 de France, d’Allemagne et du Japon), orchestres, chorales et solistes, près de 57 compositeurs ainsi que 25 créations!

Tout ceci est rendu possible grâce à nos principaux bailleurs de fonds — paliers fédéral, provincial et municipal —, à la Place des Arts qui agit à titre de grand partenaire du festival, et plus particulièrement à nos nombreux et fidèles collaborateurs du milieu de la musique de création. Ce sera sans aucun doute une aventure «mémorable» à laquelle nous vous convions tous, sans exception!

Bon festival!

Walter Boudreau, 33 février 2013