The dawning of a new era?

This seventh edition of the Montreal/New Music festival is themed around an exploration of two “timely” current topics: the environment and new technologies.

Impossible to escape this, unless one is living on Mars and even then!

So what on earth are we to make of all this for MNM 2015?

Music or rather musical practices do not escape their period and reflect — each in their own way — the “contemporary” concerns of their architects. Over the past 25 years the contribution of new technologies in concerts and other musical demonstrations has been explosive, more recently developing (again) a mind-blowing rhythm. Electroacoustics, interactive videos, holograms, surround-sound, samplers, “virtual” instruments, sound processing software, etc., are only the tip of the iceberg, a profound transformation affecting our perception of the sound phenomenon reality.

Notwithstanding, we are literally plunged into multiple “environments” which appreciably modulate the profile of artistic expression, whatever their origin. MNM 2015 features some 40 concerts and activities. All — without exception — will make “dramatic” reference to these two thematic elements, be it Michel-Georges Brégent’s mythical Atlantide, referring to Greek mythology’s biggest ecological disaster, to Mauro Lanza’s Le nubi non scoppiano per il peso! with his machine that digitally replicates raindrops, not to mention Turangalîla-Symphonie, Olivier Messiaen’s large-scale work, where for the very first time, back in 1949, the electronic sounds of the “ondes Martenot” resonated!

Since its 2003 debut, each edition of the MNM festival has been unique and the 2015 edition is no exception. Despite its somewhat eclectic context, the festival has come into existence thanks to invaluable collaborations between the music milieu and with the support of diverse levels of government. Cultural architects, collaborators, volunteers and team members for whom this production has been a major challenge, but one rife with staunch patience and a wild will to succeed!

Finally, we hope that you will join us, in a spirit eager of discovery, through every stage of this singular journey that is MNM 2015, 10 days of a great saga with an “ecological” flavor!

Enjoy the festival!

Walter Boudreau
Artistic director

Aïda Aoun
General Director

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Mot de la direction

Le début d’un temps nouveau?

Cette septième édition du festival Montréal / Nouvelles Musiques propose comme thématique une exploration des deux sujets «brûlants» d’actualité que sont l’environnement (ou les environnements) et les nouvelles technologies.

Impossible d’y échapper, à moins de vivre sur Mars… et encore!

Alors, que diable vient faire tout ceci à MNM 2015?

La musique, ou plutôt les pratiques musicales, n’échappent pas à leur temps et reflètent — chacune à sa manière — les préoccupations «contemporaines» de leurs artisans. Ces 25 dernières années, l’apport des nouvelles technologies dans la présentation de concerts et d’autres manifestations musicales a été fulgurant, et ces dernières se développent (encore) à un rythme hallucinant: électroacoustique, vidéo interactive, hologrammes, surround sound, échantillonneurs, instruments «virtuels», logiciels de transformation du son et autres ne sont que la pointe de l’iceberg d’une profonde transformation qui affecte notre perception de la réalité du phénomène sonore.

Qui plus est, nous sommes littéralement plongés dans des «environnements» multiples qui viennent moduler sensiblement le profil des expressions artistiques, quelle qu’en soit la provenance. Des quelques 40 concerts et activités à l’affiche de MNM 2015, tous — sans exception — feront référence «dramatique» à ces deux pôles, que ce soit la mythique Atlantide de Michel-Georges Brégent, faisant écho à la plus grande catastrophe écologique de la mythologie grecque, Le nubi non scoppiano per il peso! de Mauro Lanza avec sa machine à pluie numérique, ou encore la gigantesque Turangalîla-Symphonie d’Olivier Messiaen, où résonnèrent pour la toute première fois à l’orchestre, en 1949, les sons électroniques des ondes Martenot!

Depuis ses tout débuts en 2003, chaque édition du festival MNM a été singulière, et celle de 2015 n’échappe pas à la règle. Elle a été façonnée grâce à de précieuses collaborations du milieu et au soutien des divers paliers de gouvernements et ce, malgré un contexte difficile. Et aussi grâce aux artisans culturels, collaborateurs, bénévoles et membres de l’équipe pour qui livrer cette édition fut un défi de taille, qui a exigé une patience à toute épreuve et une volonté farouche.

Enfin, nous nous souhaitons de franchir ensemble, dans un esprit avide de découvertes, chaque étape de ce singulier voyage qu’est MNM 2015, une formidable saga à saveur «écologique» de 10 jours à suivre de près!

Bon festival!

Walter Boudreau
Directeur artistique

Aïda Aoun
Directrice générale