Concerts / Hiérophanie

  • February 28, 2015
    7:00 pm
Salle Pierre-Mercure — Centre Pierre-Péladeau
300, boulevard de Maisonneuve Est

Ensemble Musikfabrik and Rebecca Woodmass perform works by Grisey, Haas, Vivier.

Pre-concert activity, 6:15 pm

The North American premier of a Vivier work! Five years after its premier in Germany, Hiérophanie, created by one of the most internationally renowned Quebec composers, is finally performed in Montreal. This work is performed using highly unusual techniques, as the musicians move in circles, improvising, playing and humming. For this occasion, the festival has invited Ensemble Musikfabrik, one of the most outstanding groups in the contemporary music scene.

Participants

Program

Production MNM

Interview with Marco Blaauw, Musikfabrik General Director

How did you come to hear about the composer Claude Vivier?

In Germany and Holland, Vivier’s music is quite well known in Contemporary Music circles. After all, he studied here in Cologne. In 2009, we performed a staged version of many of his works, such as Lonely Child, Zipangu and Glaubst du an dir Unsterblichkeit der Seele.

What was the audience’s reaction after the premiere of his work Hiérophanie? Varied. Many were very happy, some were puzzled. The work is very dense and can be understood on many different levels, so no one will have exactly the same experience of the piece.

What can the audience expect?

This piece is very Vivier, you have all the elements of his mature works already in place: beautiful, pure tonalities, children’s music, multi textured layers, absurd interjections.

Concerts / Hiérophanie

  • 28 février 2015
    19h00
Salle Pierre-Mercure — Centre Pierre-Péladeau
300, boulevard de Maisonneuve Est

Ensemble Musikfabrik et Rebecca Woodmass interprètent les œuvres de Grisey, Haas, Vivier.

Activité pré-concert, 18h15

Une œuvre de Vivier en création nord-américaine! Cinq ans après une première en Allemagne, Hiérophanie, d’un des compositeurs québécois les plus connus à l’échelle internationale, est enfin interprétée à Montréal. Pour exécuter cette œuvre aux techniques de jeu inhabituelles, pendant laquelle les musiciens tournent en rond, improvisent, jouent et chantent bouche fermée, des interprètes exceptionnels s’imposent. Pour l’occasion, le festival a invité Musikfabrik, l’un des meilleurs ensembles de musique contemporaine sur la scène.

Participants

Programme

Production MNM

Entrevue avec Marco Blaauw, directeur général de Musikfabrik

Comment avez-vous entendu parler du compositeur Claude Vivier?

En Allemagne et en Hollande, dans les cercles d’initiés de la musique contemporaine, la musique de Vivier est bien connue. Après tout, il a étudié ici, à Cologne. En 2009, nous avons joué bon nombre de ses œuvres, notamment Lonely Child, Zipangu et Glaubst Du an die Unsterblichkeit der Seele.

Comment le public a-t-il réagi à la première d’Hiérophanie? Les réactions ont été variées. Beaucoup ont adoré, d’autres étaient perplexes. L’œuvre est très dense et propose différents niveaux de lecture, ce qui fait que personne ne vit exactement la même expérience, d’où l’intérêt.

À quoi le public doit-il s’attendre?

Cette pièce représente très bien Vivier, en ce sens qu’on y retrouve déjà tous les éléments propres à ses œuvres de maturité: des tonalités belles, pures, de la musique pour enfant, des couches à texture multiple, des interjections absurdes.