orchestra and saxophone quartet

Frescoes of the ’non finito’, Alighieri was inspired by the verses of Dante’s Divine Comedy, a seminal work of Italian literature. This work is a Dantesque journey of instruments around the fabulously complex world of quarter and eighth tones, for which heartless humankind must be excused. Cybernetic visions of a decomposed Gesualdo, and here I should mention his Aestimatus sum cum descendentibus in lacum from the Tenebrae Responsories (a free translation might be: “I believe myself to be among those who should descend into the Inferno”). Listen to the impossible difference! (Translation: C. Flint De Médicis)

Formal Plan of the Work:

  1. La Sonnerie — inspired by Canto XXXI of the Inferno
    Transition led by the violins in the extreme high register
  2. Hymne à Virgile — inspired by the poet of Ancient Rome and Purgatory
    Short Pause
  3. Ode à Beatrix — inspired by Dante’s love of youth and Paradise
    Épilogue — to the dark glory of Prince Gesualdo (1560-13).