Andantino con delicatezza / Elgretto maniaco / Calmo, molto dolce

The three movements of The Songs of the Decaying Garden reflect to a higher degree the complex, multilayered aspect of Sørensen’s music, bringing to mind occasional associations with the music of Brian Ferneyhough. The work was originally composed for Lerchenborg Workshop under the title Impromptu. However, prior to its first recording in 1999, Sørensen made extensice revisions, and gave the work its new title as well.

Bertel Krarup