Subscribe (RSS) What’s New At SMCQ?

For your agenda: City Life on September 26th

Take note of the next SMCQ major event: our FREE opening concert, City Life, which will take place in the salle Pierre Mercure. An opportunity to get you in the mood for MNM 2015, with works representative of the festival theme, environment and new technologies.

News posted by Guillaume De Pauw on Thursday, July 31, 2014

For your agenda: City Life on September 26th

Take note of the next SMCQ major event: our FREE opening concert, City Life, which will take place in the salle Pierre Mercure. An opportunity to get you in the mood for MNM 2015, with works representative of the festival theme, environment and new technologies.

News posted by Guillaume De Pauw on Thursday, July 31, 2014

Death of Hugh Davidson, SMCQ founding member

It is with tremendous regret that we learned of the death of Hugh Davidson, on Monday, July 14th at the age of 84. Founding member in 1996 of the SMCQ along with Maryvonne Kendergi, Jean Papineau-Couture, Serge Garant and Wilfrid Pelletier, he was one of its directors until 1969. Composer, author, he dedicated his life’s work to disseminating music worldwide, through his involvement with Radio-Canada’s French and English networks, with Ottawa’s National Arts Centre, the Canada Council for the Arts and the Victoria Symphony Society.

At age 16 he won the prestigious CAPAC (later known as SOCAN) prize, for Trois préludes pour pianos. Hugh Davidson composed diverse major works, from chamber music to choral works including ballet and music for the theater.

We express our sincere condolences to his family, his friends and his colleagues in the music milieu.

News posted Tuesday, July 22, 2014

SMCQ Youth Summer Workshops

Throughout the summer, the SMCQ will give workshops at Camp musical Père Lindsay and at the UdeM day camps. These workshops will explore the geographical and sound environment of City Life, our September 26th opening concert, which the participants will be attending.

News posted by Guillaume De Pauw on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Homage Series assessment

This year’s Homage Series to Denis Gougeon was a ringing success. All in all, 415 concerts and activities moved to Gougeon’s rhythm, and more than 45,000 people had the opportunity to listen to the composer’s music. A big thanks goes out to everyone who made this impressive tribute possible, and who helped us draw attention and recognition to our local composers.

News posted by Guillaume De Pauw on Monday, July 7, 2014

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page doc@ generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Thursday, July 31, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Abonnez-vous (RSS) Quoi de neuf à la SMCQ?

À votre agenda: City Life le 26 septembre

Notez dès aujourd’hui le prochain grand événement de la SMCQ: le concert d’ouverture GRATUIT, City Life, se déroulera le 26 septembre à la salle Pierre Mercure. L’occasion de se mettre dans l’ambiance de MNM 2015, avec des œuvres dans la thématique du festival, environnement et nouvelles technologies.

Nouvelle rédigée par Guillaume De Pauw le jeudi 31 juillet 2014

À votre agenda: City Life le 26 septembre

Notez dès aujourd’hui le prochain grand événement de la SMCQ: le concert d’ouverture GRATUIT, City Life, se déroulera le 26 septembre à la salle Pierre Mercure. L’occasion de se mettre dans l’ambiance de MNM 2015, avec des œuvres dans la thématique du festival, environnement et nouvelles technologies.

Nouvelle rédigée par Guillaume De Pauw le jeudi 31 juillet 2014

Décès de Hugh Davidson, membre fondateur de la SMCQ

Nous avons eu le regret d’apprendre le décès de Hugh Davidson, ce lundi 14 juillet à l’âge de 84 ans. Membre fondateur de la SMCQ en 1966, aux côtés de Maryvonne Kendergi, Jean Papineau-Couture, Serge Garant et Wilfrid Pelletier, il en fut administrateur jusqu’en 1969. Compositeur, auteur, il a consacré sa vie au rayonnement de la musique à travers le monde, s’impliquant auprès du réseau francophone et anglophone de Radio-Canada, du centre national des arts d’Ottawa, du Conseil des Arts du Canada et de la Victoria Symphony Society.

Titulaire à 16 ans d’un prix de la CAPAC, devenue la SOCAN, pour Trois préludes pour pianos, Hugh Davidson a composé des œuvres d’une grande diversité, de la musique de chambre aux œuvres chorales en passant par le ballet et la musique pour le théâtre.

Nous tenons à exprimer à sa famille, à ses proches ainsi qu’à tous ses amis du milieu musical nos plus sincères condoléances.

Nouvelle rédigée le mardi 22 juillet 2014

Ateliers d’été pour SMCQ Jeunesse

Tout au long de l’été, la SMCQ donnera des ateliers au Camp musical Père Lindsay et aux camps de jour de l’UdeM. Les ateliers exploreront l’environnement géographique et sonore de l’œuvre City Life, que les jeunes retrouveront au programme du concert de la rentrée le 26 septembre.

Nouvelle rédigée par Guillaume De Pauw le mardi 15 juillet 2014

Bilan d’un hommage homérien

La Série hommage à Denis Gougeon a connu un succès retentissant cette année. Au total, 415 concerts et activités auront rythmé l’année Gougeon, et plus de 45 000 personnes auront entendu la musique du compositeur. Un grand merci à tous ceux qui ont rendu possible cet hommage impressionnant et nous aident ainsi à faire connaître et reconnaître les compositeurs d’ici.

Nouvelle rédigée par Guillaume De Pauw le lundi 7 juillet 2014

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page doc@ générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le jeudi 31 juillet 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.