Quebec City (Québec)
Performer (viola)

Luc Beauchemin is principal viola of the Saguenay—Lac-Saint-Jean Symphony Orchestra and violist in the Alcan String Quartet since 1994. He is presently violin and chamber music teacher at the Québec Conservatory of Music in Saguenay.

Born in Québec City, he graduated from Laval University as a violinist where he was a student of György Terebesi. His studies continued in France where he participated in classes of Ludmila Choubina et Youri Bashmet. He spent several summers at the Banff Center for the Arts in Alberta, Canada studying chamber music with Zoltan Szekely of the Hungarian Quartet.

Luc is a founding-member of the Sinfonietta de Radio-Canada, Les Violons du Roy, and the Artur Leblanc Quartet. He has also performed chamber music with the Orford Quartet, André Laplante, Maureen Forester, Rostislav Dubinsky, and Eugene Drucker, Alain Lefèvre et Marc-André Hamelin.

The composer Marc Bélanger wrote for Luc a very unique concerto for «violinist-violist» and orchestra in witch the soloist has to perform alternatively violin and viola. Luc also produced a recording featuring works of three legendary musicians from Québec, Arthur LeBlanc, André Mathieu and Félix Leclerc.

His viola was made in Québec city in 1995 by the maker Gérard Arseneault.

Québec (Québec)
Interprète (alto)

Luc Beauchemin est membre du Quatuor Alcan et altiste solo de l’Orchestre symphonique du Saguenay—Lac-Saint-Jean depuis 1994. Il est présentement professeur de violon et de musique de chambre au Conservatoire de Chicoutimi.

Originaire de Québec, il détient un baccalauréat en violon de l’Université Laval où il a étudié avec György Terebesi. Il a aussi travaillé l’alto en France avec Ludmila Choubina et Youri Bashmet, et la musique de chambre à plusieurs reprises au Centre d’arts de Banff en Alberta sous la supervision, entre autres, de Zoltan Szekely du Quatuor Hongrois.

Il est membre-fondateur de la Sinfonietta de Radio-Canada, des Violons du Roy et du Quatuor Arthur-LeBlanc. Il a eu l’opportunité de jouer des concerts de musique de chambre avec des artistes tels que André Laplante, Maureen Forester, Marc-André Hamelin, Alain Lefèvre, Rostislav Dubinsky, Eugene Drucker, et le Quatuor Orford.

Luc Beauchemin est l’interprète d’une œuvre très originale commandée à Marc Bélanger, soit un concerto pour «violoniste-altiste» et orchestre, où le soliste doit successivement jouer les deux parties de violon et d’alto. Il a de plus enregistré un disque consacré à la musique d’André Mathieu, Arthur LeBlanc et Félix Leclerc.

L’alto sur lequel joue Luc Beauchemin est l’œuvre du luthier de Québec Gérard Arseneault.

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.