Marseille (Bouches-du-Rhône, France), 1950
Composer

Calon’s first works emerged in Canada and soon brought him international attention. In the nineties he became involved in many electroacoustic and experimental music associations and, in 1995, was invited by the DAAD to Berlin, where he took up residence. His artistic research at that time led to the development of a widely used graphical multichannel spatialisation system based on the principle of holophony (Sigma1 at APBTools/Germany, and Holophon at GMEM/France). A free-lance artist, he now lives in Montréal.

His concert works, sound installations and radio projects explore the subject of time as well as the experience of listening and of the audible, implying an ongoing process of investigation into new technologies. He is very interested in the art of radio and narrative sound forms, to which he devotes part of his production.

His work is performed world-wide. His first solo CD Ligne de vie (IMED 9001) was selected for the 1990 Grammy Awards (USA) and the second CD Les corps éblouis (IMED 9838) was nominated for the album of the year at the 1998 Opus Awards (Canada). His music is published on the empreintes DIGITALes label (Montréal) and has appears on various labels (recently released: The Ulysses Project and The little man in the ear).

[ii-07]

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Marseille (Bouches-du-Rhône, France), 1950
Compositeur

Les premières œuvres de Christian Calon ont vu le jour au Canada et ont très vite été remarquées internationalement. Durant les années 1990, il s’implique dans diverses associations de musiques électroacoustiques ou expérimentales et est invité à Berlin par le DAAD en 1995, où il s’établit. Sa recherche artistique engendre alors le développement de systèmes graphiques de spatialisation multivoies basés sur le principe d’holophonie (Sigma1 chez APB Tools/Allemagne, puis Holophon au GMEM/France). Il vit actuellement à Montréal où il travaille comme artiste indépendant.

Ses projets (musique de concert, installation sonore, radio), qui explorent le thème du temps mais aussi les modalités de l’écoute et de l’audible, impliquent un processus permanent d’investigation des technologies nouvelles. Il s’intéresse de près à l’art radiophonique et aux formes sonores narratives auxquelles il consacre une partie de sa production.

Son travail s’est fait remarquer sur la scène internationale. Son premier CD solo, Ligne de vie: récits électriques (IMED 9001), a été proposé pour les Grammy Awards 1990 (USA), et son second, Les corps éblouis (IMED 9838), a été en nomination pour le disque de l’année aux Prix OPUS 1998 (Canada). Sa musique, publiée par Empreintes DIGITALes (Montréal), apparaît aussi sur diverses étiquettes et comprend également Le projet Ulysse et The little man in the ear.

[ii-07]

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.