Ottawa (Ontario, Canada), 1972
Composer

“An unleashed voyage that is out of control…”

Imagine a hundred train engines, the pressure in their boilers mounting, simultaneously (or, perhaps, at close intervals) leaving their respective stations, and you have a rough idea of Brian Current’s music. His work has pushed harmonic successions, rhythm, and volume beyond their musical limits. A triad grows until it falls into a void and implodes. Rhythms accelerate to the point where they become a noisy whirr of blurred humming.

Born in 1972. Brian Current’s music has been widely performed both at home and abroad by outstanding ensembles. His pieces have received awards in Paris, New York, Adelaide and Vancouver and have been broadcast in over 35 countries.

Among his recent honours, he counts the 2003 Barlow Prize, where after reviewing 427 composer applications from 32 countries, the judging panel awarded Brian Current a $17,000 (USD) commission for the Indianapolis Symphony and the American Composers Orchestra at Carnegie Hall.

Other international prizes include the Selected Work (under 30) from the International Rostrum of Composers in Paris 2001, a nomination for the American Academy’s Prix de Rome 2003, first prize in the 1998 Polish International Musik y Zabawa competition, and the Jury Prize at the NEM’s International Forum for Young Composers, held at the 2000 Adelaide festival, Australia. At home, in addition to three first prizes from SOCAN, he has also received awards from ASCAP, the CBC and the Canada Council for the Arts, including the Robert Flemming Prize for most outstanding young composer. In March of 2001, he was awarded the Grand Prize in the CBC National Competition for Young Composers, the country’s highest distinction for composers under 30 years.

Raised in Ottawa, Brian Current studied music at McGill University in Montréal with Bengt Hambreaus and John Rea. He later completed his Ph.D. on full fellowship from the University of California at Berkeley in 2002, where he was also active as a conductor. In 2000 he was chosen as participant in the National Arts Centre’s conductor training workshop with Jorma Panula and Pinchas Zukerman.

His music has been performed across Canada and abroad, by the Oakland Symphony, the Winnipeg Symphony, the Warsaw National Philharmonic, the CBC Radio Orchestra, the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, the Canadian Chamber Ensemble, ARRAYMUSIC, Continuum, the SIRIUS ensemble, NUMUS, the Esprit Orchestra, among others.

In 2002, his work For the Time Being, opened the inaugural concert of the Warsaw Autumn Festival, conducted by Antoni Wit. The piece was recently released in a recording made by the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, on the Atma label. Brian Current lives in Toronto.

(Source: Canadian Music Centre)

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Ottawa (Ontario, Canada), 1972
Compositeur

«Un voyage débridé qui se déchaîne…»

Imaginez une centaine de locomotives, leurs chaudières sous pression, quittant simultanément (ou, peut-être, l’une après l’autre), leurs gares respectives et vous aurez une idée de la musique de Brian Current. Ses expériences font avancer les progressions, le rythme et le volume au-delà de leurs limites musicales. Une triade continue à croître jusqu’à ce qu’elle bascule dans le vide et implose. Les rythmes accélèrent au point ou ils deviennent des flous ronronnés bruyants.

Né en 1972. Parmi les distinctions les plus récentes qu’a reçues Brian Current, citons le Barlow Prize 2003, où il a été choisi parmi 427 concurrents de 32 pays, et qui lui a valu une commande pour l’Indianapolis Symphony et l’American Composers’ Orchestra au Carnegie Hall. Ses autres prix internationaux comprennent l’œuvre choisie à la Tribune internationale de compositeurs à Paris en 2001 (catégorie compositeurs de moins de 30 ans), une nomination au Prix de Rome 2003 de l’American Academy, le premier prix à l’édition 1998 du concours international polonais Musik y Zabawa ainsi que le prix du jury au Forum international pour les jeunes compositeurs du Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM), tenu en 2000 au festival d’Adelaide, en Australie. Au Canada, outre trois premiers prix de la SOCAN, Brian Current a également reçu des prix de l’ASCAP, de la SRC et du Conseil des arts du Canada, dont le Prix Robert Fleming décerné au jeune compositeur le plus remarquable. En mars 2001, il a remporté le Grand Prix du Concours national de jeunes compositeurs de la Société Radio-Canada, la plus haute distinction accordée au Canada aux compositeurs âgés de moins de 30 ans.

Brian Current a grandi à Ottawa. Il a étudié la musique à l’université McGill, à Montréal, avec Bengt Hambraeus et John Rea. En 2002, il a fait un Ph. D. à l’Université de la Californie à Berkeley grâce à une bourse de cette institution, où il a également mené des activités de chef d’orchestre. En 2000, il a été choisi pour participer aux ateliers de direction d’orchestre du Centre national des Arts, dirigés par Jorma Panula et Pinchas Zukerman.

La musique de Brian Current a été exécutée au Canada et à l’étranger par l’Oakland Symphony, le Winnipeg Symphony, la Philharmonique nationale de Varsovie, le CBC Radio Orchestra, le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, l’Ensemble de Chambre canadien, ARRAYMUSIC, Continuum, l’ensemble SIRIUS, NUMUS, l’Esprit Orchestra, et plusieurs autres.

En 2002, son œuvre For the Time Being a inauguré le premier concert du Festival d’automne de Varsovie, sous la direction d’Antoni Wit. Cette œuvre a été enregistrée sous étiquette Atma par le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne.

La musique de Brian Current a été souvent jouée au Canada et à l’étranger par des ensembles prestigieux. Ses œuvres ont remporté des prix à Paris, New York, Adelaide et Vancouver et elles ont été présentées dans plus de 35 pays. Brian Current vit à Toronto.

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.