Moscow (Russia)
Conductor

Valery Gergiev’s inspired leadership as Artistic and General Director of the Mariinsky Theatre has brought universal acclaim to this legendary institution. In addition to conducting the Kirov Orchestra, Opera and Ballet in over forty-five countries, Maestro Gergiev has been a guest conductor of many great institutions. He is currently Principal Conductor of the Rotterdam Philharmonic, Principal Guest Conductor of the Metropolitan Opera and, as of January 2007, Principal Conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra. He is Founder and Artistic Director of the Gergiev Rotterdam Festival, the Mikkeli International Festival, the Moscow Easter Festival and the Stars of the White Nights Festival in St. Petersburg, Russia.

Born in Moscow, Mr. Gergiev studied conducting with Ilya Musin at the Leningrad Conservatory. At age 24, he was the winner of the Herbert von Karajan Conductors’ Competition in Berlin. He made his Kirov Opera debut one year later, in 1978, conducting Prokofiev’s War and Peace and was appointed Artistic Director and Principal Conductor in 1988.

Maestro Gergiev is the recipient of numerous awards. He was the 2006 winner of the Karajan Prize (Germany) and the Polar Prize (Sweden) for outstanding international performance and leadership. He has recorded extensively, especially the Russian repertoire, mainly for Decca (Universal Classics), but he also appears on the Philips and DG labels.

[ii-07]

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Moscou (Russie)
Chef

Directeur artistique et général du théâtre Marinski à Saint-Pétersbourg, Valery Gergiev a redonné une place à la célèbre institution. En plus d’avoir dirigé l’Orchestre, le Ballet et l’Opéra de Kirov dans plus de 45 pays, il a été chef invité de plusieurs grandes institutions: notamment, il est présentement chef principal du Philharmonique de Rotterdam, Chef invité principal du Metropolitan Opera et, depuis janvier 2007, premier chef du London Symphony Orchestra. Il est par ailleurs fondateur et directeur artistique du Gergiev Rotterdam Festival, du Mikkeli international Festival, du Moscow Easter Festival et de Stars of the White Nights Festival de Saint-Petersbourg, en Russie.

Né à Moscou, M. Gergiev a étudié la direction d’orchestre avec Ilya Musin au Conservatoire de Lenningrad. À 24 ans, il gagnait le concours de composition Herbert von Karajan à Berlin. Il a fait ses débuts à l’Opéra Kirov un an plus tard, en 1978, conduisant Guerre et paix de Prokofiev, et a été nommé directeur artistique et chef principal de l’institution en 1988.

Tout au long de sa carrière, Maestro Gergiev a reçu de nombreux prix, dont les plus récents sont les prix Karajan (Allemagne) et Polar (Suède) en 2006, pour sa remarquable carrière inter-nationale. Sa vaste discographie, principalement consacrée au répertoire russe, est parue principalement chez Decca (Universal Classics), mais aussi chez Philips et DG.

[ii-07]

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.