Lier (Belgium), 1962
Composer

Born in Lier in 1962, Wim Henderickx completed his studies at the Royal Flemish Conservatory of Music in Antwerp where he earned several premiers prix, in percussion, harmony, counterpoint, fugue, and composition. He later taught musical composition and analysis at the Antwerp Conservatory and at the Lemmens Institut in Leuven. He also worked for a number of years as a tympanist for the Beethoven Academy and the Ensemble Eugène Ysaÿe.

Henderickx’s œuvre includes chamber and orchestral music as well as opera. A recipient of a number of awards, his recent distinctions include the Jeugd-en Muziekprijs Vlaanderen (The Flemish Youth and Music Prize) and the triennial E. Baie I 1997-1999 from the Province of Antwerp.

Following a period of atonal composition in the style of the Second Viennese School, and an artistic obsession for rhythm influenced by Igor Stravinsky, Henderickx turned in 1989 to oriental and other cultural ethnicities, producing a cycle entitled Raga, inspired by Indian melody. In March 2000, his opera Triumph of Spirit Over Matter, commissioned by Music Theatre Transparant, was premiered by the Koninklijk Filharmonisch Orkest van Vlaanderen (The Royal Flemish Philharmonic Orchestra) under the direction of Grant Llewellyn, with soloists Gert François and Leo De Neve.

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Lier (Belgique), 1962
Compositeur

Né à Lier en 1962, Wim Henderickx complète des études au Conservatoire royal flamand de musique à Anvers, où il obtient des Premiers Prix en percussion, harmonie, contrepoint, fugue et composition. Il enseigne l’écriture musicale, l’analyse et la composition au Conservatoire d’Anvers et à l’Institut Lemmens de Louvain. Pendant de nombreuses années, il est timbalier pour la Beethoven Academy et l’Ensemble Eugène Ysaÿe.

Son catalogue comporte de la musique de chambre, des œuvres pour orchestre et des opéras. Lauréat de nombreux prix, Henderickx reçoit le Jeugd-en Muziekprijs Vlaanderen (Le Prix de la Jeunesse et de la Musique de Flandre) ainsi que le prix triennal E. Baie I 1997-1999 de la province d’Anvers.

Après une période d’écriture atonale dans le style de la Seconde École viennoise et d’obsession rythmique, influencée par Igor Stravinsky, il se tourne, dès 1989, vers les cultures ethniques et orientales et compose un cycle, Raga, inspiré des mélodies indiennes. En mars 2000, son opéra Triumph of Spirit over Matter, commandé par le Music Theatre Transparant, est créé par le Koninklijk Filharmonisch Orkest van Vlaanderen, sous la direction de Grant Llewellyn, avec les solistes Gert François et Leo De Neve.

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.