Montréal (Québec), 2014
Performer

Instruments of Happiness is the name of the electric guitar ensembles produced by Bradyworks under the direction of Tim Brady. This ambitious project is dedicated to the performance of new music and includes a quartet, a professional orchestra of 20 guitarists and a 100-strong community-focused ensemble.

Instruments of Happiness is clearly obsessed with the electric guitar. We only have electric guitars on stage, and we hope fans of the instrument will find a sympathetic resonance with our concerts. However, we also hope to move beyond the guitar, creating new projects and concerts that are unique, imaginative and passionate musical events, all prepared with the greatest care for the quality of sound and the performance of the music. We hope to be not just guitarists, but musicians. We hope to bring you some happiness with our instruments.

The Quartet: The Instruments of Happiness quartet focuses on chamber music performed by high-level professionals, and is also designed to encourage the creation of new repertoire for this instrumentation. We think the electric guitar is a major contender for new chamber music and can contribute significantly to the future of chamber music in the 21st century.

The Orchestra (20 Professional Guitarists) : The Instruments of Happiness orchestra showcases 20 of Montréal’s most talented professional guitarists. Their début performance in April 2016, Montréal, featured a major commission from musique actuelle visionary Joane Hétu as well as the first performance in 14 years in Montréal of Tim Brady’s prize-winning multi-guitar manifesto: 20 Quarter Inch Jacks. They presented similar events in St. John’s, Halifax and Vancouver in 2016 — 2017.

Instruments of Happiness — 100 guitares électriques: Playing new music on the guitar is fun no matter who you are. Playing new music with 99 other musicians is 99 times more fun! The ensemble includes 20 professional guitarists as well as a group of about 80 guitar enthusiasts of all ages from all corners of Montréal. That makes 100 guitars…or more. This group is all about large-scale, spatialized projects that focus on community participation within highly professional, featured productions.

The début in 2015 was a huge success. They played to an audience of 2,400+ as part of the Montréal/New Music international festival, with a spectacular performance celebrating the 100 th birthday of legendary guitarist and innovator, Les Paul. The public space of the Complex Desjardins was charged with electricity for Tim Brady’s larger-than-life composition 100 Very Good Reasons Why__ which splits the ensemble into 4 different groups around the atrium fountain. Since 2015, three other editions have been featured in 2016, 2017 and 2018.

Notes from Artistic Director Tim Brady

“I have played guitar since 1967, electric guitar since 1972. My interest in the instrument really began on February 9th, 1964, when The Beatles appeared on the Ed Sullivan show for the first time. The guitar (and the music) is created to make us happy, sad, contemplative, ecstatic… frankly, one is never indifferent in the face of music. According to two legendary guitar manufacturers, Robert Godin and Tim Brady (my 2 favourites), you can never be sad with a guitar in your hands. Absolutely. The guitar is an “instrument of happiness,” hence our name.

Since 1984 I have been exploring a new approach to the electric guitar vision as both a composer and a guitarist. It is a vision which does not ignore our roots in jazz, blues, rock and noise, but it is a vision which seeks to extend the boundaries of the electric guitar, incorporating chamber music, electroacoustics, orchestral music, opera, the-sky’s-the-limit…. Instruments of Happiness is simply the next step in this evolution.”

[ix-18]

Montréal (Québec), 2014
Interprète

Instruments of Happiness, c’est la bannière sous laquelle sont regroupés les ensembles de guitares électriques produits par Bradyworks et dirigés par Tim Brady. Ce projet ambitieux se consacre à l’interprétation de musique nouvelle et comprend un quatuor, un orchestre de 20 guitaristes professionnels, et un grand ensemble communautaire comptant 100 guitaristes ou plus.

Ce qui obsède Instruments of Happiness, c’est bien évidemment la guitare électrique. Il n’y a que des guitares sur scène. Nous espérons que nos concerts feront vibrer les fans de cet instrument. Cela dit, nous cherchons aussi à transcender le monde de la guitare en réalisant des concerts, des créations et des projets qui sont d’abord et avant tout des événements musicaux uniques et passionnants qui font preuve d’imagination. Nous souhaitons préparer et présenter le tout avec grand soin: la qualité du son et du jeu nous tiennent à cœur. Nous osons rêver d’être non seulement guitaristes, mais d’être aussi musiciens. Nous osons rêver, aussi, de vous rendre heureux avec nos instruments.

Le quatuor: Le quatuor Instruments of Happiness, ensemble constitué de professionnels de haut niveau, se consacre à l’interprétation de musique de chambre; de par sa conception, on tente également de stimuler la création de nouveau répertoire pour cette instrumentation. Nous croyons que la guitare électrique a un rôle important à jouer dans le contexte des nouvelles musiques de chambre, et qu’elle pourra grandement contribuer à l’avancement de la musique de chambre au 21e siècle.

L’orchestre (20 guitaristes professionnels) : L’orchestre Instruments of Happiness met en vedette 20 guitaristes professionnels montréalais des plus talentueux. À l’occasion de son concert inaugural (à Montréal, en avril 2016), le programme incluait une commande d’envergure de Joane Hétu, visionnaire de la musique actuelle, ainsi que la première représentation depuis 14 ans de 20 Jacks ¼, le manifeste guitaristique primé de Tim Brady. D’autre prestations ont été données à St John’s, Halifax et Vancouver.

Instruments of Happiness — 100 guitares électriques: Jouer de la musique nouvelle à la guitare, c’est agréable, peu importe qui vous êtes. Jouer de la musique nouvelle avec 99 autres musiciens, c’est 99 fois plus agréable! L’ensemble compte 20 guitaristes professionnels ainsi qu’un groupe d’environ 80 guitaristes de tous les âges provenant des quatre coins de Montréal. Ça fait 100 guitares… ou plus. C’est un projet axé sur la spatialisation sonore à grande échelle dont l’objectif est de faire participer la communauté à des productions d’envergure de qualité professionnelle.

Sa première prestation, en 2015, a connu un succès énorme. Dans le cadre du festival international Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques, il a donné un concert spectaculaire devant plus de 2 400 personnes en célébration du 100e anniversaire de Les Paul, guitariste et innovateur légendaire. L’espace public du Complexe Desjardins s’est retrouvé électrifié par la grandiose composition de Tim Brady intitulée 100 Very Good Reasons Why__, dont l’interprétation requiert la division de l’ensemble en quatre sections autour de la fontaine de l’atrium. Quatre autres éditions ont eu lieu par la suite, en 2016, 2017 et 2018.

Notes du directeur artistique, Tim Brady

«Je joue de la guitare depuis 1967; je joue de la guitare électrique depuis 1972. Mon intérêt pour l’instrument est vraiment né le 9 février 1964, quand j’ai vu les Beatles à l’émission d’Ed Sullivan. La guitare (la musique!) existe pour nous rendre heureux, triste, contemplatif, extatique… On ne peut jamais être triste si on a une guitare dans les mains. Il n’y a là aucun doute: c’est un «instrument de bonheur», d’où notre nom, Instruments of Happiness.

Tim Brady [ix-18]

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.