Rimouski (Québec), 1956
Composer • Performer (laptop)

Chantal Laplante first practiced her musical art by way of her academic training in classical piano, and then jazz piano to eventually dedicate herself entirely to composition. Following her studies with Prévost, Longtin, Dhomont (scholarship) and Harvey (Lewes, RU), she explored several genres: instrumental, mixed, electroacoustic and computer-assisted improvisation (Brillant Days was an award-winning CD by The Wire Magazine).

While Composer-in-Residence at the Internationales Künstlerhaus Villa Concordia in Bamberg (Germany) in 2003, Chantal Laplante’s artistic work found a new orientation: her approach and works continuously attempt to transmit and transcend a tonal reality that encompasses the entire human body.

She expands this experience in her productions where the concert is a work-in-process, in which the music and the immediate surroundings are here with us as a whole, no longer for us and around us! It becomes an invitation to a sensorial and perceptive experience, “in which the body is to the world what the heart is to itself.”

[i-19]

Rimouski (Québec), 1956
Compositrice • Interprète (ordinateur)

Chantale Laplante a d’abord pratiqué l’art musical à travers une formation en piano classique, ensuite en piano jazz pour finalement se consacrer à la composition. Après des études avec Prévost, Longtin, Dhomont (bourse de perfectionnement) et Harvey (Lewes, RU) elle explore différents genres: musique instrumentale, mixte, électroacoustique, l’improvisation avec ordinateur (disque Brilliants Days primé par le magazine The Wire).

C’est lors de sa résidence d’un an à la Internationales Künstlerhaus Villa Concordia à Bamberg (Allemagne) en 2003 que son travail prend une nouvelle direction, sa démarche et ses travaux cherchant à transcrire et transmettre une réalité sonore visant tout le corps.

Elle approfondit cette approche dans des productions où le concert se présente comme un processus, où l’œuvre et l’environnement sont là avec nous, et non plus pour nous et autour de nous; c’est une invitation à une expérience perceptive du corps qui est «dans le monde comme le cœur dans l’organisme.»*

* Merleau-Ponty, Phénoménologie de la perception, 1945, p. 235