Québec, 1968
Composer • Performer (invented instruments)

Jean-François Laporte pursues an hybrid approach integrating visual arts and sound exploration. Taking an intuitive approach to create music, Laporte learns art through concrete experimentation on soundmatter. He has written over 80 works that have been performed in Montréal, across Canada and all around the world. The composer received several awards from Opus, Luigi Russolo, and Citta’di Udine, and his company Productions Totem Contemporain has received the Music Award during the Grand prix du Conseil des Arts de Montréal.

For the past eighteen years, along with his activities as a composer, Jean-François has been developing and making new musical instruments (Tu-Yo, Bowl, FlyingCan, Siren Organ, Vibrating Membrane, Acoustic Oscillator, Tube, the Pipe, Sax-trunk,) which he integrates in his works and in his visual & sound installations using computerized and robotized controls. The composer is still very active in the creation of works for traditional instruments but very often used in a non-traditional manner.

Increasingly, his inventions are drawing attention in the theatrical and visual arts circles. Not only have they been the centerpieces of numerous tours they have opened up new opportunities in the areas of contemporary music and dance.

Jean-François Laporte is artistic director of Productions Totem Contemporain, an organization he founded in Montréal in 2003. He holds a doctorate degree in music Composition from University of Huddersfield (UK) with Pierre-Alexandre Tremblay.

The musical works of Jean-François Laporte are published on Babel Scores Edition.

[i-19]

Québec, 1968
Compositeur • Interprète (instruments inventés)

Jean-François Laporte poursuit une démarche hybride intégrant l’art sonore, la composition musicale, la performance, l’installation ainsi que l’art numérique. Plutôt intuitif, il apprend l’art du son à travers l’expérimentation concrète de la matière. Il a écrit plus de 80 œuvres qui ont été présentées à Montréal, au Canada, en Europe et en Asie, et a été lauréat de plusieurs honneurs (Prix Opus, Prix Luigi Russolo et Citta’di Udine, entre autres).

Depuis près de vingt ans, il consacre beaucoup d’énergie au développement et à la fabrication de nouveaux instruments de musique (membrane vibrante, tu-yo, bol, FlyingCan, trompe-sax, FlyingSax, orgue de sirènes, Tube, etc.) qu’il intègre à ses œuvres et à différents projets multidisciplinaires. Le compositeur continue également à être actif dans la création d’œuvres pour instruments traditionnels mais souvent utilisés de façon non traditionnelle, en plus de collaborer régulièrement avec le milieu de la danse contemporaine. Il a ainsi été amené à travailler avec de nombreux solistes, ensembles instrumentaux, danseurs et chorégraphes d’Amérique du Nord, d’Europe et d’Asie.

Jean-François Laporte assure la direction artistique des Productions Totem Contemporain, organisme établi à Montréal dont il est fondateur. Il détient une maîtrise en composition musicale de l’Université de Montréal et un doctorat dans la même discipline de l’Université de Huddersfield (UK, Pierre-Alexandre Tremblay).

Ses œuvres sont publiées aux éditions BabelScores.

[i-19]

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.