Performer

As the Wilmington Star News writes, “Christina Brier and Kathryn Sloat of Lilac 94 aren’t your grandmother’s harpists. Brier and Sloat hit their soundboards, pound their harps with mallets, slap their strings, and generally make a ruckus.” Since 2013, the award-winning contemporary harp duo has been performing new and previously undiscovered music and exploring creative ways of using the harp in venues ranging from the Rohs Street Cafe (OH) and Champlain Centre Mall (NY) to the Milwaukee Art Museum (WI) and Fishtank Theater (MO) to MISE-EN Place in Brooklyn and The Troy Savings Bank Music Hall (NY). Highlights of 2018 included performances in Philadelphia in the full production of Karlheinz Stockhausen’s Klang: The 24 Hours of the Day presented by Analog Arts and producer Elizabeth Huston and capturing Third Prize at the International Harp Competition in Saluzzo, Italy.

In addition to the Canadian premiere of Stockhausen’s Freude in the 2019 Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques, Lilac 94 continues to garner opportunities for two harps including a June 2019 performance of Sir Karl Jenkin’s double-harp concerto Over the Stone with Conductor Steven Errante and the Wilmington Symphony Orchestra (NC), an appearance at the American Harp Society’s Summer Institute, and an autumn U.S. Mid-Atlantic, Southeast tour.

Embracing their mission to expand the repertoire for two harps, Lilac 94 has worked with composers such as Bret Bohman (Swirl and Foglifter), Rebecca Larkin (The Juniper Tree), and Daniel Morel (KC Blue). Adding to their program of 21st century works, Lilac 94 is currently working with American composer Molly O’Roark to add to their 21st century repertoire for use their outreach workshops as well as concert programming.

Christina Brier and Kathryn Sloat formed Lilac 94 in 2013 as the two completed their graduate studies at the Eastman School of Music. The duo’s name reflects their origins in Rochester where the lilac is the city flower and the 94 strings between their two harps. Lilac 94 can be found online as @Lilac94duo.

[i-19]

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Interprète

Comme le mentionne le journal Wilmington Star News, «Christina Brier et Kathryn Sloat de Lilac 94 ne sont pas les harpistes de votre grand-mère. Brier et Sloat frappent leurs tables d’harmonie, martèlent leurs harpes avec des maillets, écrasent leurs cordes et le plus souvent créent tout un vacarme.» Depuis 2013, ce duo de harpes, contemporain et primé, joue de la musique nouvelle et jusque là inconnue et explore des méthodes créatives d’utilisation de la harpe, dans des espaces allant du Rohs Street Cafe (OH) au Champlain Center Mall (NY), au Milwaukee Art Museum (WI), au Fishtank Theatre (MO), au MISE-EN Place de Brooklyn et au Troy Savings Bank Music Hall (NY). L’année 2018 a été marquée entre autres par des représentations à Philadelphie de la production intégrale de Klang par Karlheinz Stockhausen: ’The 24 Hours of the Day’, présentée par Analog Arts et le producteur Elizabeth Huston, pour laquelle le duo s’est mérité le troisième prix du concours international de harpe de Saluzzo, en Italie.

En plus de jouer en première canadienne le Freude de Stockhausen au festival Montréal Nouvelles Musiques en 2019, Lilac 94 continue de trouver des opportunités pour deux harpes, notamment une performance en juin 2019 du concerto pour double harpe ’Over the Stone’ avec le chef d’orchestre Steven Errante et l’orchestre de Wilmington (NC), une apparition au American Harp Society’s Summer Institute et une tournée automnale dans les états américains du mid-atlantique et du sud-est.

Continuant sa mission d’élargir le répertoire pour deux harpes, Lilac 94 a collaboré avec des compositeurs tels que Bret Bohman (Swirl et Foglifter), Rebecca Larkin (The Juniper Tree) et Daniel Morel (KC Blue). En plus de son programme d’œuvres du XXIe siècle, Lilac 94 collabore présentement avec la compositrice américaine Molly O’Roark afin d’ajouter à son répertoire du XXIe siècle des ateliers de sensibilisation et des programmes de concerts.

Christina Brier et Kathryn Sloat ont fondé Lilac 94 en 2013 à la fin de leurs études supérieures au Eastman School of Music. Le nom du duo reflète ses origines dans la ville de Rochester, où le lilas est la fleur de la ville et des 94 cordes de leurs deux harpes. Lilac 94 est disponible en ligne sous le nom @Lilac94duo.

[i-19]

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.