Montréal (Québec), 1982
Composer • Performer (bassoon)

Based in Quebec and Europe, Sonia Paço-Rocchia explores diverse mediums in her practice, which encompasses Web art, interactive sound installations, composition and improvisation. Sound is often central to her work.

Sonia readily incorporates improvisation or theatrical elements into her compositions, which include pieces for non-conventional instruments. As an improvising artist (real-time processing with non-conventional instruments, voice and bassoon), she not only performs both solo and small ensemble works, but is also an improvisational bassoonist with the London Improvisers Orchestra. Her penchant for collaborative ventures has led her to compose for dance-, theatre- and visual arts-based projects. An able programmer, she is discerning in her use of new technologies. Sonia studied mixed composition at the Université de Montréal, rounding out her training with courses at IRCAM (Paris), Numediart (Mons) and iMAL (Brussels). Her work includes a commissioned piece of mixed music for the Canada Council for the Arts, and she has previously been selected for the Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes residency program.

Sonia met cornet and trumpet player Frédéric Demers during her studies at the Université de Montréal. The two quickly developed a strong rapport: Frédéric, captivated by the composer’s work, came to share with her his personal approach to playing the cornet; Sonia, in turn, helped the trumpeter elevate his own performance by opening his eyes to a new perspective, all the while granting him an important role in the creative process. It was from this close partnership that Multi trompettes et folie was born.

Traduction Michelle Wong [ii-15]

Montréal (Québec), 1982
Compositrice • Interprète (basson)

La Québéco-Européenne Sonia Paço-Rocchia a une pratique diversifiée allant de l’art web et de l’installation sonore interactive à la composition, en passant entre autres par l’improvisation. Le son est souvent au cœur de ses œuvres.

Elle compose entre autres pour instruments non conventionnels et intègre volontiers à ses œuvres improvisation ou théâtralité. En tant qu’improvisatrice (instruments non-conventionnels, voix, basson, avec traitement en temps réel), elle joue autant en solo qu’en petits ensembles. À ce titre, elle est d’ailleurs bassoniste-improvisatrice au sein du London Improvisers Orchestra. Sonia apprécie particulièrement les collaborations et a fait de la musique pour la danse, le théâtre et les arts visuels. Programmeuse, elle utilise les nouvelles technologies avec discernement. Sonia Paço-Rocchia a effectué ses études à l’Université de Montréal en composition mixte, et a complété sa formation par des stages à l’Ircam (Paris), Numediart (Mons), iMAL (Bruxelles). Elle a reçu une commande du Conseil des arts du Canada en musique mixte, et a été sélectionnée pour le programme de résidences Pépinières européennes pour jeunes artistes.

C’est pendant ses études à l’Université de Montréal qu’elle a rencontré le cornettiste et trompettiste Frédéric Demers. Les deux artistes ont rapidement développé une grande complicité: d’un côté, le trompettiste s’est laissé prendre par le monde de la compositrice et a su partager avec elle sa propre vision de l’interprétation du cornet; de l’autre, la compositrice a su permettre au trompettiste de se dépasser en le faisant rentrer dans un monde nouveau, tout en lui laissant une place importante dans la création de l’œuvre. Le projet de Multi trompettes et folie est né de cette belle rencontre.