Sweden
Performer

The Peärls Before Swïne Experience was founded in 1995 and has grown into one of Scandinavia’s most successful and original ensembles for new music. They have specialized in commissioning their own repertoire of short (5 minute) pieces, and have to date received more than 80 works from 18 countries. Composers who have written directly for the ensemble include Anders Hillborg, Mikael Edlund, Lars Ekström (Sweden), David Lang (USA), Tristan Murail (France), Atli Heimir Sveinsson (Iceland), Michel van der Aa (Holland) and now, Christopher Butterfield (Canada).

The members of the ensemble met at the Royal University College of Music in Stockholm, but they have also studied at music conservatories in, among other places, Boston, New York, London, Copenhagen, and Cologne.

The Peärls Before Swïne Experience’s relaxed and direct style in concert, which includes quite a bit audience contact, has made them attractive to festivals around the world, and they have performed at every important new music festivals in Scandinavia as well as at the ISCM World Music Days and in Japan, They have also specialized in bringing new music to younger audiences, playing occasionally at rock festivals in Sweden. Moreover, they founded and regularly perform at a club for new music, film, electronica, and performance art in their home town of Stockholm called SEKT which for the past five years has become a popular meeting place for young people between the ages of 18 and 35.

The Peärls Before Swïne Experience have released 2 CDs on the Caprice label; their self- titled first CD was given a five-star rating by the German CD magazine Fonoforum, and their second, ”swïne live!”, was hailed by the national morning paper Svenska Dagbladet as having ”revitalized the Swedish new music scene.” In 2004, the group won the Crystal Prize (Kristallpriset), awarded jointly by Edition Reimers and the Swedish Society of Conductors for special contributions to new music, and in 2005, the group was awarded the Society of Swedish Composer’s Interpreter’s Prize.

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Suède
Interprète

Fondé en 1995, The Peärls Before Swïne Experience est actuellement considéré comme l’un des groupes de musique nouvelle les plus originaux et les plus populaires de Scandinavie. Sa spécialité: la commande d’oeuvres courtes (5 minutes); à ce jour, près de 80 titres de compositeurs de 18 pays différents ont écrit pour lui, dont Anders Hillborg, Mikael Edlund, Lars Ekström (Suède), David Lang (ÉU), Tristan Murail (France), Atli Heimir Sveinsson (Islande), Michel van der Aa (Pays-Bas) et, maintenant, Christopher Butterfield (Canada).

Les membres de l’ensemble se sont rencontrés Royal University College of Music à Stockholm, mais ils ont chacun étudié dans plusieurs institutions, dont les conservatoires de Boston, de New York, de Londres, de Copenhague et de Cologne.

Son style décontracté et les contacts directs qu’il établit avec le public font de The Peärls Before Swïne Experience un groupe recherché internationalement: il a donné des concerts dans les festivals majeurs de la Scandinavie ainsi qu’au ISCM World Music Days et au Japon. Il donne régulièrement des concerts de nouvelle musique devant les jeunes, et joue à l’occasion dans des concerts rocken Suède. Le groupe a aussi ouvert un club de musiques nouvelles et électroniques, de films et de performances à Stockholm, appelé SEKT, qui au cours des cinq dernières années est devenu très populaire auprès des jeunes de 18 à 25 ans et où il joue régulièrement.

The Peärl… a produit deux disques compacts sur étiquette Caprice: le magazine allemand Fonoforum décerne cinq étoiles au premier; le second est encensé par la critique du Svenska Dagbladet, qui affirme que le groupe «revitalise la scène musicale suédoise». En récompense de sa contribution à la nouvelle musique, le groupe reçoit, en 2004 le prix Crystal, décerné conjointement par les Éditions Reimers et la société suédoise des chefs d’orchestre; en 2005, il gagne le prix d’interprétation de la société des compositeurs suédois.

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.