New York City (New York, USA), 1957
Composer

Composer Linda Catlin Smith grew up in New York City and lives in Toronto. Her teachers include Allen Shawn in NY, and Rudolf Komorous, Martin Bartlett, John Celona, Michael Longton and Jo Kondo at the University of Victoria. She was Artistic Director of Arraymusic, one of Toronto’s major contemporary music ensembles in Toronto, from 1988 — 1993. She is a composition instructor at Wilfrid Laurier University.

Her works have been performed nationally and/or internationally by Arraymusic, Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, Windsor Symphony, Tapestry New Opera, Vancouver New Music, Turning Point Ensemble, SMCQ, Duke Trio, Colin Tilney, Eve Egoyan, Evergreen Club Gamelan, Les Coucous Bénévoles, Fibonacci Trio, Quatuor Bozzini, SuperNova Quartet, Del Sol Quartet, and the Penderecki Quartet among many others. She has been supported in her endeavours by the Canada Council for the Arts, Ontario Arts Council, Toronto Arts Council, Chalmers Foundation, K.M. Hunter Award, and the Banff Centre.

Linda’s music has been recorded by Eve Egoyan, Arraymusic, Evergreen Club Gamelan, Penderecki Quartet, Continuum, Les Coucous Benevoles and on her solo CD, Memory Forms. A new CD of Ballad, a 45-minute work for cello and piano (performed by Andy Smith and Eve Egoyan), has just been released on the World Editions label.

[ii-11]

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

New York (New York, ÉU), 1957
Compositrice

Linda Catlin Smith a grandi à New York et vit à Toronto. Elle a étudié auprès d’Allen Shawn à New York, Rudolf Komorous, Martin Bartlett, John Celona, Michael Longton et Jo Kondo à l’Université de Victoria. Elle a été la directrice artistique de Arraymusic de 1988 à 1993, l’un des principaux ensembles de musique contemporaine à Toronto. Elle enseigne la composition à Wilfrid Laurier University.

Ses œuvres ont été interprétées nationalement et internationalement entre autres par Arraymusic, Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, Windsor Symphony, Tapestry New Opera, Vancouver New Music, Turning Point Ensemble, SMCQ, Duke Trio, Colin Tilney, Eve Egoyan, Evergreen Club Gamelan, Les Coucous Bénévoles, Fibonacci Trio, Quatuor Bozzini, SuperNova Quartet, Del Sol Quartet, and the Penderecki Quartet. Elle a été soutenue dans son entreprise par le Canada Council for the Arts, le Ontario Arts Council, le Toronto Arts Council, la Chalmers Foundation, K.M. Hunter Award, et le Banff Centre.

La musique de Linda a été enregistrée par Eve Egoyan, Arraymusic, Evergreen Club Gamelan, Penderecki Quartet, Continuum, Les Coucous Benevoles et sur son album en solo, Memory Forms. Un nouveau CD de Ballades, une œuvre de 45 minutes pour violoncelle et piano (interprétée par Andy Smith et Eve Egoyan), vient de sortir sous le label World Editions.

[ii-11]

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.