Denmark
Performer

Theatre of Voices is one of world’s foremost vocal ensembles. Paul Hillier created the group to be flexible in size, focusing on medieval and renaissance polyphony and contemporary composers of the “new tonality” school, electronical and experimental work.

The idea for the group was conceived as early as 1989 while Hillier was still artistic director of the Hilliard Ensemble, but looking for ways to expand into different styles of singing while performing the early music of his choice. Under the name Theatre of Voices, he began creating new projects ranging from a recital of Troubadour songs to programs devoted to the music of John Cage and Arvo Pärt.

Theatre of Voices has appeared in Paris (Opéra Bastille), Frankfurt, Berlin, Utrecht, New York, and Washington, DC. Hillier directed the first performances of Reich’s The Cave and subsequently, Reich wrote Proverb for Theatre of Voices.

Paul Hillier and Theatre of Voices were the subject of numerous radio shows, including for the BBC. Theatre of Voices records extensively for Harmonia Mundi USA. Recordings devoted to repertoire of Josquin, Mouton and Lassus join the most recent contemporary music releases. Hillier’s book Arvo Pärt was published in 1997 by Oxford University Press.

[ii-07]

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Danemark
Interprète

Theater of Voices, créé par Paul Hillier, est un des ensembles vocaux les plus reconnus sur la scène internationale. L’ensemble, de taille variable, se consacre plus particulièrement à la polyphonie médiévale et de la Renaissance, ainsi qu’aux compositeurs contemporains de l’école de la «nouvelle tonalité» et aux œuvres électroniques et expérimentales.

Hillier a eu l’idée de cet ensemble en 1989, alors qu’était encore directeur artistique du Hilliard Ensemble. Il aspirait alors à s’ouvrir à différents styles de chant, sans pour autant délaisser la musique ancienne. Sous le nom de Theater of Voices, il a commencé à créer de nouveaux projets allant de chants troubadours aux œuvres de John Cage et Arvo Pärt.

Theater of Voices s’est fait entendre entre autres à Paris (Opéra Bastille), Frankfurt, Berlin, Utrecht, New York et Washington. Durant les dernières années, il a performé à travers les États-Unis et l’Europe. Hillier a d’ailleurs dirigé les premières performances de The Cave de Reich, qui a pour sa part écrit Proverb pour l’ensemble.

Theater of Voices et son fondateur ont fait l’objet de nombreuses émissions radiophoniques, notamment sur le réseau de la BBC. L’ensemble a fait un grand nombre d’enregistrement fort appréciés par les critiques, sur étiquette Harmonia Mundi, couvrant un répertoire allant de Mosquin, Mouton et Lassus à Pärt et Cage. Hillier publiait en 1997 un livre sur Arvo Pärt, sous les presses de l’Université d’Oxford.

[ii-07]