Montréal (Québec)
Performer

Theresa Transistor (Christian Calon, Christian Bouchard, Mario Gauthier and Monique Jean) is a quartet of electroacoustic composers who have exited their personal studios to develop a community of exchange, listening and “working, together.” The “we,” of Theresa Transistor is important as a political, social, and aesthetic position for the exploration of the within and beyond of values, or those things that lie beside the musical, in a framework of experimental acousmatic concerts.

Theresa Transistor came to life at Montréal’s Monument National on January 25th, 2005, as part of the Akousma festival organized by Réseaux. Launched specifically for this event, the process set in place for the show proved so inspiring and promising—it took home an Opus prize for concert of the year in new and electroacoustic music—that it seemed necessary and urgent to continue the venture.

Invented electronic instruments, microphones, radios, analogue and digital synthesizers are only some of the means that Theresa Transistor deploys for its listening to that which is alive and in which there is an unburdening of the immutable and the fixed, allowing for a greater appreciation of the immediate, the mobile, the anticipation of sound, the musical, and the sudden.

The style of Theresa Transistor is shaped by the aesthetic foundations attached to fixed sound works (restricted listening, spatialization, the tailoring of sound) and thus secures an instant approach to composition: to listen to everything that lies in the infinite space between sound and ideas. (Translation: C. Flint De Médicis)

[ii-07]

Montréal (Québec)
Interprète

Theresa Transistor est un quatuor de compositeurs électroacousticiens qui sortent de leurs stu-dios personnels de compositions pour développer une communauté d’échange, d’écoutes et du «faire, ensemble». Le «nous», comme prise de position politique, sociale et esthétique afin d’explorer l’en deça, ou les à côtés du musical, dans l’optique d’une reformulation expérimentale du concert acousmatique.

Theresa Transistor a vu le jour au Monument National de Montréal, le 25 janvier 2005, dans le cadre du Festival Akousma organisé par Réseaux. D’abord spécifiquement initié pour cet événement, le processus mis en place pour ce spectacle s’est avéré tellement inspirant et prometteur (lauréat au 9e Prix Opus dans la catégorie Concert de l’année — musique actuelle, électroacoustique) qu’il s’avéra nécessaire et urgent de poursuivre la démarche entreprise.

Instruments électriques inventés, bidouillages, microphones, radios, synthés analogique ou numériques sont les moyens pour Theresa Transistor de proposer une écoute du vivant dans laquelle il y a un délestage de l’immuable et du fixé, au profit d’une ouverture à une gestuelle immédiate, mobile, à l’affût du sonore, du musical, de ce qui surgit.

Theresa Transistor introduit dans son jeu les fondements esthétiques des œuvres de sons fixés (l’écoute réduite, la spatialisation, le façonnage du sonore) et y arrime une approche de composition instantanée: être à l’écoute de tout ce qu’il y a d’infini entre le son et les idées.

[ii-07]

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.