Tbilisi (Georgia), 1952
Performer (piano)

Alexander Toradze is universally recognized as a virtuoso in the grand Romantic tradition. He has enriched the Russian pianistic heritage with his own unorthodox interpretations, deeply poetic lyricism, and emotional intensity.

Mr. Toradze appears regularly with the world’s leading orchestras and participates in summer music festivals. In June 2003, he made his triumphant debut with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Vladimir Jurowski. Upcoming highlights include performances with the Toronto Symphony, Pacific Symphony, Cincinnati Symphony, London Symphony, BBC Philharmonic, and the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestras, among others. In October 2006, he toured the U.S. with the Kirov Orchestra of the Mariinsky Theatre conducted by Valery Gergiev.

He has recorded numerous highly acclaimed CDs, devoted mainly to the Russian repertoire (Prokofiev, Scriabin, Mussorgsky, Stravinsky) on the Philips and Angel/EMI labels.

Born in 1952 in Georgia, Alexander Toradze graduated from the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow and soon became a professor there. In 1983, he moved permanently to the United States and in 1991, he was appointed the Martin Endowed Chair Professor of Piano at Indiana University South Bend, where he has created a teaching environment that is unparalleled in its concept. The members of the multi-national Toradze Piano Studio (www.toradzepianostudio.org) have developed into a worldwide touring ensemble that has gathered great international critical acclaim. The Studio has also performed projects detailing piano and chamber works by Rachmaninoff, Prokofiev, Dvorak and Stravinsky, in Rome, Venice and Ravenna in Italy; the Klavier Festival Ruhr and Berlin Festivals in Germany; and in Boston, Chicago and Washington DC.

[ii-07]

Tbilissi (Géorgie), 1952
Interprète (piano)

Alexander Toradze est reconnu internationalement comme un virtuose de la grande tradition romantique. Il a enrichi l’héritage pianistique russe avec ses conceptions d’interprétation non-orthodoxes, son lyrisme profondément poétique et l’intensité de son émotion.

M. Toradze se fait entendre régulièrement avec les plus grands orchestres de la scène internationale et participe à des festivals de musique d’été. En juin 2003, il a fait des début triomphants avec le Philharmonique de Berlin (dir. Vladimir Jurowski). Il se fera entendre prochainement avec les orchestres symphoniques de Toronto, Londres, Cincinnati et du Pacifique, et les philharmoniques de la BBC et de Dresde, entre autres. En 2006, il était en tournée américaine avec l’Orchestre Kirov du théâtre Marijnski sous la direction de Valery Gergiev. Il a par ailleurs réalisé plusieurs enregistrements, majoritairement consacrés au répertoire russe (Prokofiev, Scriabine, Moussorgski, Stravinski), parus sous étiquette Philips et Angel/EMI et acclamés par la critique.

Né en 1952 en Géorgie, Alexander Toradze a fait ses études au Conservatoire Tchaïkovsky de Moscou où il est rapidement devenu professeur. En 1983, il s’est établi de manière permanente aux États-Unis, pour être nommé professeur de piano à la Indiana University South Bend en 1991. Il y a créé un environnement pédagogique unique en son genre: les membres du Toradze Piano Studio (www.toradzepianostudio.org) forment un ensemble, rapidement acclamé par la critique lors de ses tournées mondiales. Ce Touring Conservatory Studio s’est fait entendre à New-York, Rome, Venise, Ravenne, Berlin, Boston, Chicago et Washington, avec des œuvres de Bach, Rachmaninov, Prokofiev, Dvorak et Stravinsky.

[ii-07]