Strasbourg (Bas-Rhin, France), 1964
Conductor

The brilliant young French conductor, Emmanuel Villaume is Music Director of Opera and Orchestra at the Spoleto Festival USA in Charleston, South Carolina. This season Mr Villaume makes his Metropolitan Opera debut with Madama Butterfly. He also returns to the Royal Opera for La Rondine and Los Angeles Opera for La Bohème with Angela Gheorghiu and Roberto Alagna.

Born in Strasbourg, he began his musical education at the Strasbourg Conservatory and continued his studies in Paris where he received degrees in literature, philosophy, and musicology. He also studied dramatic arts and performed in theatrical productions. Mr Villaume is the author of noted musicological articles and research papers.

At the age of twenty-one he was appointed Dramaturg of the Opera du Rhin in Strasbourg. During his tenure he came to the attention of Spiros Argiris, Music Director of the Spoleto Festival in Italy, who invited him to conduct and narrate Debussy’s Les Chansons de Bilitis in 1987. Mr Argiris, who was also the Music Director of Spoleto Festival USA invited Mr Villaume to make his American debut there with Le Nozze di Figaro in 1990. Mr Villaume began a close collaboration with both festivals where he conducted numerous symphonic concerts and opera performances including the American premiere of Henze’s Der Prinz von Homburg.

Mr Villaume has led the Boston Symphony at Symphony Hall and the Tanglewood Festival, San Francisco Symphony, Houston Symphony, Indianapolis Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Detroit Symphony, Minnesota Orchestra, St. Louis Symphony, OSM in Montréal and at Carnegie Hall, Tokyo Metropolitan Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris, Beethovenhalle Orchestra of Bonn, and the orchestras of the Bastille Opera, Monte Carlo Philharmonic, Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana, Teatro alla Scala, and La Fenice with a concert performance of Berlioz’s Les Troyens.

Strasbourg (Bas-Rhin, France), 1964
Chef

Le brillant jeune chef français Emmanuel Villaume est le directeur musical de l’Opéra et de l’Orchestre du Spoleto Festival USA à Charleston (Caroline du Sud). Cette saison, M. Villaume fera ses débuts au Metropolitan Opera dans Madama Butterfly. Il sera également de nouveau invité par le Royal Opera dans une production de La Rondine et par le Los Angeles Opera pour La Bohème avec Angela Gheorghiu et Roberto Alagna.

Né à Strasbourg, il a commencé ses études musicales au Conservatoire de cette ville avant de les poursuivre à Paris où il recevra des diplômes en littérature, philosophie et musicologie. Il a également étudié l’art dramatique et a pris part à des productions théâtrales. M. Villaume est l’auteur de thèses et d’articles musicologiques remarqués.

Alors qu’il était âgé de 21 ans, il a été nommé Dramaturg à l’Opera du Rhin de Strasbourg. Pendant son mandat, il a été remarqué par Spiros Argiris, directeur musical du Festival de Spoleto (Italie) qui devait l’inviter à diriger et narrer Les Chansons de Bilitis de Debussy en 1987. M. Argiris, qui était également directeur musical du Spoleto Festival USA a alors invité M. Villaume à faire ses débuts américains dans Le Nozze di Figaro en 1990. M. Villaume devait amorcer une collaboration soutenue avec les deux festivals et diriger de nombreux concerts et productions opératiques, notamment la première américaine de Der Prinz von Homburg de Henze.

M. Villaume a dirigé le Boston Symphony au Symphony Hall et au Tanglewood Festival, le San Francisco Symphony, le Houston Symphony, l’Indianapolis Symphony, le Los Angeles Philharmonic, le Detroit Symphony, le Minnesota Orchestra, le St. Louis Symphony, l’OSM à Montréal et au Carnegie Hall, le Tokyo Metropolitan Orchestra, l’Orchestre de Paris, le Beethovenhalle Orchestra de Bonn et l’Orchestre de l’Opéra Bastille, le Philharmonique de Monte Carlo, l’Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana, celui du Teatro alla Scala et de La Fenice dans une version concert des Troyens de Berlioz.

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.