Cléo Palacio-Quintin

Leuven, Belgium, 1971

  • Composer
  • Performer (hyper-flute)

Constantly seeking new means of expression and eager to create, the flutist-improviser-composer Cléo Palacio-Quintin (1971) takes part in many premieres as well as improvisational multidisciplinary performances, and composes instrumental and electroacoustic music for various ensembles and media works. Since 1999, she extended these explorations into the development of the hyper-flutes. Interfaced to a computer and software by means of electronic sensors, these enhanced flutes enables her to compose novel interactive electroacoustic soundscapes and videos.

Over the years her compositions have been performed in The Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, France, Italy, Belgium, Sweden, Switzerland, the U.K., Canada and the U.S., either by herself or various ensembles. Besides composing chamber music with electronics, she performs regularly as a soloist and improviser.

She is the first women to own a Doctorate in electro-acoustic composition from the Université de Montréal (2012). Active researcher at the Center for interdisciplinary research in Music Media and Technology (CIRMMT) at McGill University, she received the Director’s Interdisciplinary Excellence Prize 2008 in recognition of her having created an innovative bridge between scientific/technological and artistic domains. She was the resident composer at the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur in Montréal, from september 2009 to 2011. The Conseil québécois de la musique gave her the Prix OpusComposer of the year for the artistic season 2010-2011.

Cléo Palacio-Quintin

Louvain, Belgique, 1971

  • Compositrice
  • Interprète (hyper-flûte)

Musicienne polyvalente avide de création, la flûtiste-improvisatrice-compositrice Cléo Palacio-Quintin (1971) participe à de nombreuses premières et performances multidisciplinaires, et compose des musiques instrumentales et électroacoustiques pour différents ensembles et œuvres médiatiques. Depuis 1999, elle développe ses hyper-flûtes. Branchées à un ordinateur à l’aide de capteurs électroniques, ces flûtes augmentées permettent de créer des univers sonores interactifs qui combinent le son instrumental et électroacoustique avec la vidéo.

Ses œuvres ont été interprétées par elle-même ou par divers ensembles dans plusieurs pays: Angleterre, Belgique, Canada, Danemark, États-Unis, France, Italie, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Suède, Suisse. En plus de composer de la musique de chambre avec électronique, elle se produit régulièrement comme soliste et improvisatrice.

Elle est la première femme à obtenir un Doctorat en composition électroacoustique à l’Université de Montréal (2012). Très active au sein du Centre interdisciplinaire de recherche en musique, média et technologies (CIRMMT), elle recevait en 2008 le Director’s Interdisciplinary Excellence Prize en reconnaissance de son travail qui crée des liens novateurs entre les domaines scientifique, technologique et artistique. Elle a été compositrice en résidence à la Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur à Montréal de septembre 2009 à 2011. Le Conseil québécois de la musique lui a attribué le Prix Opus de Compositeur de l’année pour la saison artistique 2010-2011.

[i-15]