Concert cancelled

Société des arts technologiques

1195, boulevard Saint-Laurent [métro Saint-Laurent], Montréal, Québec

Info: 514-844-2033

Tickets

  • Concert cancelled

Bozzini Quartet

Photo: Alain Lefort, 2005.

Coproduction Société des arts technologiques (SAT) / SMCQ

Concert postponed to a later date

Electronic ritual / techno / house with incantation: get in a trance with “Vivier Remix” with lights and sounds! The Société des Arts Technologiques [SAT] offers up Claude Vivier’s universe through an unusual encounter between the composer and electronic. Four DJs — all furnished with turn tables, mixers, and carefully chosen excerpts of Vivier’s works — team up with the Bozzini quartet “live” and under Walter Boudreau’s baton. This truly “new” event testifies to Vivier’s “enduring soul.” With video images for support, this will be a total experience.

When she first brought this project to Walter Boudreau, Founder and Chief Executife Officer of [SAT], Monique Savoie, had a tribal ritual in mind — the “Famadihana.”

Each year the people of Madagascar dig up their dead, spruce them up, and speak and dance with them before returning them to their graves. All of this takes place within a grand ceremony over the space of several days. By practicing this ritual of “Famadihana” (or the turning around of the dead), the people of Madagascar pay tribute to their ancestors while asking them for their blessing: the presence of their bodies, even several years after their deaths, testifies to the presence of their spirits.

Presented as part of Montréal/New Music’s “Série Hommage.”

Concert Dates

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page even_detail@hommage2007_21955 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, June 30, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Concert annulé

Société des arts technologiques

1195, boulevard Saint-Laurent [métro Saint-Laurent], Montréal, Québec

Info: 514-844-2033

Billets

  • Concert annulé

Quatuor Bozzini

Photo: Alain Lefort, 2005.

Coproduction Société des arts technologiques (SAT) / SMCQ

Concert reporté à une date ultérieure

Rituel électronique / techno / house aux allures incantatoires: entrez en transe avec ce «Vivier Remix» en sons et images! La Société des arts technologiques (SAT) vous invite à pénétrer l’univers de Claude Vivier en provoquant sa rencontre inusitée avec DJ Orchestra. Quatre DJ, munis d’un tourne-disques, d’un «mixer» et d’extraits de Vivier choisis judicieusement, accompagnés du quatuor à cordes Quatuor Bozzini «live» et dirigés par la baguette de Walter Boudreau: un événement très «actuel» témoignant de «l’immortalité de l’âme» du compositeur disparu. Images vidéos à l’appui, l’expérience sera totale!

En proposant ce projet à Walter Boudreau, Monique Savoie, directrice artistique de la SAT, avait en tête un rituel tribal: le «Famadihana».

Chaque année les malgaches sortent leurs morts de terre, leur refont une toilette, parlent et dansent avec eux avant de les remettre au tombeau, le tout dans une grande cérémonie festive de plusieurs jours. Par la pratique de ce rituel du nom de «Famadihana» («retournement des morts»), les malgaches rendent hommage à leurs ancêtres tout en leur demandant leur bénédiction: la présence de leur corps, même plusieurs années après leur mort, témoigne de la présence de leur esprit.

Présentée dans le cadre de la «Série Hommage» de Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques

Dates de représentation

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page even_detail@hommage2007_21955 générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le lundi 14 avril 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.