Sunday, November 29, 2009, 7:00 pm

Gesù — Centre de créativité

1200, rue de Bleury [métro Place-des-Arts], Montréal, Québec

Tickets: 514-861-4036

Tickets

  • Regular: $25.00
  • Senior: $15.00
  • Student: $15.00

Paolo Bellomia

Photo: Claude Lacasse.

Production Orchestre 21

From Varèse to Tremblay: for this event Orchestre 21 will showcase Tremblay’s music alongside works by other major composers. The programme is based on determining encounter in the composer’s life that took place in Paris in 1952, when a barely 20-year old Tremblay came into contact with the fully mature Varèse. Rounded out with works by Zappa, the evening will feature a triptych of 20th-century musical monuments that will thrust listeners into a past that is still at our doorstep.

With the support of the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

Programme

  • Gilles Tremblay, Vers le soleil (1978)

  • Edgard Varèse, Déserts (1950-54)

    two flutes (and piccolos), two clarinets (and clarinet in E-flat), bass clarinet, two horns, three trumpets (and two piccolo trumpets), three trombones, two tubas, piano, five percussions and tape

  • René Orea Sánchez, Landocinógena (2009) (premiere)

  • Frank Zappa, The Perfect Stranger (1982)

    two flutes (and alto flutes), two oboes (and English horns), two clarinets, bass clarinet, bassoon, two horns, two trumpets, two trombones, tuba, harp, two pianos (and celestas), three percussions, three violins, two violas, two cellos and double bass

  • Frank Zappa, Dupree’s Paradise (1984)

  • Frank Zappa, Naval Aviation in Art? (1984)

  • Frank Zappa, The Girl in the Magnesium Dress (1984)

  • Frank Zappa, G-Spot Tornado (1992)

  • Frank Zappa, Be-Bop Tango (1973)

Founded and directed by Paolo Bellomia, Orchestre 21 is made up of 40 highly talented young Québecois musicians.

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page even_detail@hommage2009_26623 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, April 14, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Dimanche 29 novembre 2009, 19h00

Gesù — Centre de créativité

1200, rue de Bleury [métro Place-des-Arts], Montréal, Québec

Billets: 514-861-4036

Billets

  • Régulier: 25,00$
  • Aîné: 15,00$
  • Étudiant: 15,00$

Paolo Bellomia

Photo: Claude Lacasse.

Production Orchestre 21

De Varèse à Tremblay: l’Orchestre 21 présente ici le compositeur québécois aux côtés du chef-d’œuvre d’un de ses grands maîtres. Évocation d’une rencontre déterminante à New York en 1952: un Tremblay d’à peine 20 ans croise un Varèse en pleine maturité… Ce concert, complété par une sélection d’œuvres de Zappa, place côte à côte trois monuments du 20e siècle, nous plongeant avec force dans un passé qui est encore à notre porte.

Avec le soutien du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

Programme

  • Gilles Tremblay, Vers le soleil (1978)

  • Edgard Varèse, Déserts (1950-54)

    deux flûtes (et piccolos), deux clarinettes (et clarinette en mi bémol), clarinette basse, deux cors, trois trompettes (et deux trompettes piccolos), trois trombones, deux tubas, piano, cinq percussions et bande

  • René Orea Sánchez, Landocinógena (2009) (création)

  • Frank Zappa, The Perfect Stranger (1982)

    deux flûtes (et flûtes alto), deux hautbois (et cors anglais), deux clarinettes, clarinette basse, basson, deux cors, deux trompettes, deux trombones, tuba, harpe, deux pianos (et célestas), trois percussions, trois violons, deux altos, deux violoncelles et contrebasse

  • Frank Zappa, Dupree’s Paradise (1984)

  • Frank Zappa, Naval Aviation in Art? (1984)

  • Frank Zappa, The Girl in the Magnesium Dress (1984)

  • Frank Zappa, G-Spot Tornado (1992)

  • Frank Zappa, Be-Bop Tango (1973)

Fondé et dirigé par Paolo Bellomia, l’Orchestre 21 compte 40 jeunes musiciens du Québec de grand talent.

Composer au présent!

La SMCQ vit au rythme effervescent de la création musicale depuis maintenant près de cinquante ans. Avec ses concerts réguliers, sa Série hommage, son Festival international et ses activités jeunesse, elle est à la fois une tribune pour les compositeurs d’aujourd’hui et une fenêtre ouverte sur la création pour tous.

Page even_detail@hommage2009_26623 générée à Montréal par litk 0.600 le lundi 14 avril 2014. Conception et mise à jour: DIM.