Heureux qui comme…*

… Denis Gougeon, following in the footsteps of Claude Vivier (2008), Gilles Tremblay (2010) and Ana Sokolović (2012), is the honored “homage” composer for the SMCQ’s 48th season (2013-14)!

“Heureux” as the generator of an impressive and comprehensive catalog of more than one-hundred extremely varied works intended for all music genres: full orchestra, opera, ballet, chamber music, concerto, solo, theater and still more. His productivity and in particular his inspiration seems inexhaustible, and each new creation is always assured of success, as much for its interpreters as for the public!

“Heureux”, as indeed the interpreters of his music going back to his career debut can attest, maintaining a unique collaboration and attentiveness, resulting in an experience that is pleasurable, be it in jubilant or dark moments - communicating irresistible music!

“Heureux”, as is the public - young, older, scholars or neophytes - to whom he dedicates a rare and profound consideration, evidenced by an intense concern for a “direct" and immediately frank communication with his music, demonstrating at all times a formidable efficiency!

“Heureux” as are his works, patiently created fruits of his labor, comparable to the intricate mechanics of watch-making, accurate within a quarter of an hour, where the delicate balance melds with the composer’s everpresent “scholarly” musical speculation, and its access to the general public, ensuring his continuous success!

“Heureux”, as ultimately all will be, who benefit from a Denis Gougeon “Odyssey” throughout the entire year, thanks to our numerous associates in the cultural milieu, allowing us to discover or rediscover the music of this renowned local composer, original, inspirational, vital, active, a major humanitarian, qualities that have garnered him numerous prizes and distinctions, resulting in his becoming one of the most often played and respected Canadian composers both here and abroad.

Walter Boudreau, Aïda Aoun, Artistic Director & General Director

* This phrase references Denis Gougeon’s work Heureux qui comme… (1987). “Heureux qui, comme Ulysse, a fait un beau voyage”(tr. “Happy he who, like Ulysses has travelled well”), coming from the sonnet of the same name by French medieval poet Joachim Du Bellay.

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Heureux qui comme…*

… Denis Gougeon, faisant suite aux Claude Vivier (2008), Gilles Tremblay (2010) et Ana Sokolovic (2012), se voit confier le titre de compositeur «hommagé» de la 48e saison (2013-14) de la SMCQ!

«Heureux» géniteur d’un impressionnant catalogue varié à l’extrême et comprenant à ce jour plus d’une centaine d’œuvres destinées à tout ce qui grouille en musique – grand orchestre, opéra, ballet, musique de chambre, concerto, solo, théâtre et quoi d’autre encore. Sa production, et tout particulièrement son inspiration, semblent intarissables, et chaque nouvelle création du compositeur est toujours le gage d’un succès assuré, autant pour les interprètes que pour le public!

«Heureux» en effet comme les interprètes de sa musique avec qui, et ce, depuis les débuts de sa carrière, il entretient une complicité et une oreille attentive uniques et qui font en sorte que le plaisir communicatif de sa musique, que ce soit dans les moments jubilatoires ou sombres, est irrésistible!

«Heureux», comme le public – jeunes, moins jeunes… érudits ou néophytes – à qui il voue une rare et profonde considération et qui se manifeste toujours par un intense souci d’une communication «directe» et immédiate avec sa musique, sans détours, et toujours porteuse d’une redoutable efficacité!

«Heureux» comme ses œuvres, fruits patients d’une formidable mécanique «horlogère» réglée au quart de tour, où le délicat équilibre entre la spéculation musicale «savante» du compositeur – toujours présente – et son accès pour le commun des mortels, est réussi à tout coup!

«Heureux» enfin, comme nous tous qui allons bénéficier durant toute une année, grâce à nos nombreux collaborateurs dans tout le milieu culturel, d’une «Odyssée» Denis Gougeon qui nous permettra de découvrir ou redécouvrir la musique d’un grand compositeur de chez nous, original, inspiré, toujours vivant, toujours actif et grand humaniste, qualités qui lui ont valu les nombreux prix et distinctions qui en font l’un des compositeurs canadiens les plus joués et respectés au pays comme à l’étranger.

Walter Boudreau, Aïda Aoun, Directeur artistique et Directrice générale

* Clin d’oeil à l’oeuvre de Denis Gougeon intitulée Heureux qui comme… (1987) en écho au célèbre poème de Joachim Du Bellay (1522-1560), «Heureux qui, comme Ulysse, a fait un beau voyage…»

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.