MusiMarch 2006: Impressions

Music From the North

Press Release

Montréal, Monday, December 5, 2005 — From February 27th to March 3rd, 2006, the Schulich School of Music of McGill University and the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ) join forces once again for the biennial MusiMarch festival, for a week of concerts, lectures, workshops and masterclasses that will create a dialogue between composers and performers from here and abroad.

This year the focus will be on Nordic countries, with the participation of the Icelandic ensemble Caput as guest of honour, the Molinari Quartet, the Ensemble de la SMCQ and three performance groups from the Schulich School of Music: the McGill Chamber Singers, the McGill Contemporary Music Ensemble (CME) and the McGill Digital Composition Studio. Radio Canada’s “Espace Music” and the CBC’s “Radio Two” return as official broadcasters, while the festival welcomes Radio France’s “Présence.” With artistic coordination by composer Denys Bouliane, this event is presented by Bayer Canada with the support of the Daniel Langlois Foundation for Art, Science, and Technology.

Impressions

This year, MusiMarch highlights several composers from Nordic countries, including Anders Hillborg from Sweden, Bent Sørensen from Denmark, Lasse Thoresen from Norway, and Haukur Tómasson from Iceland, who will be in Montreal for the entire week.

These guests will present music that in many ways shares, “a heightened sense of the exquisite in a finely crafted style endowed with great evocative force,” and, at times, “very rich ties to folk traditions,” in the words of Denys Bouliane. In this respect, Karen Young’s performance with the Ensemble de la SMCQ with a work written specifically for a folk singer is not to be missed.

These works” the artistic coordinator adds, “cannot fail to recall the idea of music as the transposition, sublimation and acoustic formalization of sensory perception so dear to the impressionist aesthetic.

Concerts of Nations

Audiences will also have a chance to hear—in many cases for the first time in Canada—works by Canadian composers Denys Bouliane (Quebec premiere of Trois petits simiodrames), Sean Ferguson, Marc Hyland (premiere of Rosarium), Jean Lesage, Yannick Plamondon, Laurie Radford, R. Murray Schafer (premiere of Quartet No. 10 with the Molinari String Quartet) and Ana Sokolović. Other composers include the American John Cage; Icelanders Thuridur Jónsdóttir and Atli Ingolfsson; Danish and Polish composers Per Nørgärd and Krzysztof Penderecki; Sweden’s Wilhelm Stenhammar and Latvia’s Santa Ratniece.

Voices, Strings and Trombone

This highly diversified context will provide the backdrop for audiences to discover (or rediscover) the highly imagistic and colourful universe of all these composers, with performances by first rate musicians. Along with renowned ensembles and highly gifted students, the festival is pleased to welcome sopranos Julieanne Klein, Ingrid Schmithüsen and Karen Young, baritone Vincent Ranallo , trombonist Alain Trudel, violinist Ellen Jewett and pianist Rolf Bertsch, along with conductors Yaniv Attar, Walter Boudreau, Denys Bouliane and Peter Schubert.

Performers, composers, conductors invite you to share their music in the warmhearted environment of the festival’s concerts, encounters and exchanges that will take place at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University, in the midst of a Montreal winter.

Six Concerts

  1. Monday, February 27th, Redpath Hall, 8:00 pm
    Ensemble CAPUT
  2. Tuesday, February 28th, Pollack Hall, 8:00 pm
    Molinari Quartet
  3. Wednesday, March 1st, Pollack Hall, 8:00 pm
    McGill Contemporary Music Ensemble (CME)
    Denys Bouliane, artistic director and conductor; Ellen Jewett, solo violin; Yaniv Attar, guest conductor
  4. Thursday, March 2nd, Redpath Hall, 7:00 pm
    McGill Chamber Singers + Les Chanteurs d’Orphée
    Peter Schubert, artistic director and conductor
  5. Thursday, March 2nd, Pollack Hall, 9:00 pm
    CAPUT Ensemble
    Denys Bouliane, guest conductor
    McGill DCS (Digital Composition Studio),
    Sean Ferguson, director
    Ingrid Schmithüsen, soprano
  6. Friday, March 3rd, Pollack Hall, 8:00 pm
    Ensemble de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ)
    Walter Boudreau, artistic director and conductor
    Karen Young, solo voice; Julianne Klein, soprano; Vincent Ranallo, baritone; Alain Trudel, trombone
— 30 —

Musimars 2006: Des impressions

Une musique venue du nord

Communiqué de presse

Montréal, le Lundi 5 décembre 2005 — Du 27 février au 3 mars 2006, l’École de musique Schulich de l’Université McGill en coproduction avec la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ) renoue avec l’événement biennal MusiMars, qui présente une semaine de concerts, de conférences, d’ateliers et de cours de maître avec des compositeurs et des interprètes étrangers en dialogue avec leurs vis-à-vis d’ici.

Cette année, le regard se tourne vers les pays nordiques, en collaboration avec l’ensemble islandais Caput, invité d’honneur, le Quatuor Molinari, l’Ensemble de la SMCQ et trois ensembles de l’École de musique Schulich: le McGill Chamber Singers, le McGill Contemporary Music Ensemble (CME) et le McGill Digital Composition Studio. Les diffuseurs officiels sont toujours Espace musique, la radio musicale de Radio-Canada et CBC Radio Two, auxquels s’ajoute le festival Présence de Radio France. L’événement, placé sous la coordination artistique du compositeur Denys Bouliane, est présenté par Bayer Canada et profite du soutien de la Fondation Daniel Langlois pour l’art, la science et la technologie.

Des Impressions

Cette année, MusiMars met l’accent sur plusieurs compositeurs des pays nordiques, en particulier Anders Hillborg de Suède, Bent Sørensen du Danemark, Lasse Thoresen de Norvège et Haukur Tómasson d'Islande, qui seront à Montréal durant toute la semaine.

Ils y présenteront des musiques semblant partager «un sens aigu de l’exquis et une poésie très finement ciselée, dotée d’une grande force évocatrice» et, parfois, «en lien très riche avec les traditions populaires», selon les mots de Bouliane. À ce sujet, il ne faut pas manquer la prestation de Karen Young avec l’Ensemble de la SMCQ, dans une pièce écrite spécialement pour chanteuse folk. «Ces œuvres, ajoute le coordonnateur artistique, ne sont pas sans rappeler l'idée de la musique comme transposition, sublimation et formalisation acoustiques des sensations, chère aux esthétiques impressionnistes.»

Concerts des nations

On pourra également entendre — souvent en première audition canadienne — des œuvres des Canadiens Denys Bouliane (création québécoise de Trois petits simiodrames), Sean Ferguson, Marc Hyland (création de Rosarium), Jean Lesage, Yannick Plamondon, Laurie Radford, R. Murray Schafer (création du Quatuor no 10 avec le Molinari) et Ana Sokolović; de l’Américain John Cage; des Islandais Thuridur Jónsdóttir et Atli Ingolfsson; du Danois Per Nørgärd; du Polonais Krzysztof Penderecki; du Suédois Wilhelm Stenhammar et de la Lettonienne Santa Ratniece.

Voix, cordes et trombone

C'est dans ce contexte hautement diversifié que nous pourrons découvrir (ou redécouvrir) les univers très imagés et colorés de tous ces compositeurs, qui seront interprétés par des musiciens de premier plan. Aux côtés des ensembles renommés et étudiants de haut calibre, se produiront des solistes qu’on aura plaisir à accueillir, notamment les sopranos Julieanne Klein, Ingrid Schmithüsen et Karen Young, le baryton Vincent Ranallo, le tromboniste Alain Trudel, la violoniste Ellen Jewett, le pianiste Rolf Bertsch, ainsi que les chefs Yaniv Attar, Walter Boudreau, Denys Bouliane et Peter Schubert.

Interprètes, compositeurs et chefs artistiques vous invitent à partager ces musiques dans l’environnement chaleureux des concerts, rencontres et échanges qui se tiendront à l'École de musique Schulich de l'Université McGill, au coeur de l’hiver montréalais.

Les six concerts

  1. Lundi, 27 février, Redpath Hall, 20h
    Ensemble CAPUT
  2. Mardi, 28 février, Pollack Hall, 20h
    Quatuor Molinari
  3. Mercredi, 1er mars, Pollack Hall, 20h
    McGill Contemporary Music Ensemble (CME)
    Denys Bouliane, directeur artistique et chef; Ellen Jewett, violon solo; Yaniv Attar, chef invité
  4. Jeudi, 2 mars, Redpath Hall, 19h
    McGill Chamber Singers + Les Chanteurs d’Orphée
    Peter Schubert, directeur artistique et chef
  5. Jeudi, 2 mars, Pollack Hall, 21h
    Ensemble CAPUT
    Denys Bouliane, chef invité
    McGill DCS (Digital Composition Studio),
    Sean Ferguson, directeur
    Ingrid Schmithüsen, soprano
  6. Vendredi, 3 mars, Pollack Hall, 20h
    Ensemble de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ)
    Walter Boudreau, directeur artistique et chef
    Karen Young, voix solo; Julianne Klein, soprano; Vincent Ranallo, baryton; Alain Trudel, trombone;
— 30 —