Long live total freedom!

Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques: Third edition

Press Release

Montréal, Tuesday, January 23, 2007 — From February 24 to March 8, 2007, contemporary musical creation, in a multitude of guises, sounds, and colours, will be front and centre at the third edition of the Montreal/New Music International Festival (MNM). The focus this year will be on the brilliant eclecticism and creative freedom of today’s music on the Quebec and Canadian as well as international scenes. From the symphonic to the acousmatic, by way of the most explosive electronic music and multimedia, passing through chamber music, vocal music, and invented instruments, artistic directors Walter Boudreau and Denys Bouliane have assembled a program that will feast your eyes as well as your ears! Major ensembles, soloists, and orchestras from here and around the world will be on the bill.

Great Gathering

MNM 2007 is produced by the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec, in partnership with the Schulich School of Music of McGill University, the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Espace musique (Radio-Canada), CBC Radio Two (93.5) and the following associated partners: the Montreal High Lights Festival, the Canadian Music Centre — Quebec region, Jeunesses Musicales Canada, the Conservatoire de musique et d’art dramatique de Montréal, the Faculty of Music of the Université de Montréal, the Society for Arts and Technology (SAT), Elektra, Réseaux, Totem Contemporain, Quasar, Espaces sonores illimités (ESI), the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM), the Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM), the Orpheus Singers, the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur, and the Daniel Langlois Foundation. The festival will be presented in Montreal and reprised in Toronto and Paris, thanks to partnerships with the Soundstreams Canada Festival and Radio France.

Great Scale

MNM 2007 will present 26 concerts, 72 composers, 28 ensembles, 11 conductors, 23 soloists, over 700 musicians, an international symposium on the theme “Composing in the 21st Century,” a special performance at the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur, 7 talks / lectures, and 6 masterclassses. The majority of the concerts will be taped by Radio-Canada and CBC, and broadcast over both the English and French networks, and will be pitched to the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), which regroups 55 countries. The Montreal High Lights Festival will host MNM’s official opening concert at the Society for Arts and Technology and also collaborate in our public event, which will see over 100 young musicians stationed at the Palais des Congrès to greet participants along the route of the Montreal underground marathon in a resounding welcome. MNM will host a number of awareness-raising and familiarization activities: 5 concerts that will bring together students from Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, and Montreal (MNM-Midi); 5 creative workshops for youth (Musicolateur), produced with Jeunesses Musicales Canada; and the pre-premiere of a show for teens (La Fugue).

Quality in Diversity

Once again this year, the festival will present an opportunity to chart some of the more important composers of today: “classic” composers in the genre or “new kids on the block”… the door is open to everyone, the only credo being: quality in diversity! The festival’s increasingly growing and younger audiences inspired the orientation of this year’s festival, which revolves around the works of “delinquent” composers who have made their mark through the force of their personalities, underpinned by a remarkable independence of spirit, as evidenced in Stockhausen, Zappa, Hendrix, and Xenakis. It is a theme for young people, always eager for daring and liberating new experiences. Some of the special hybrid concerts will integrate visual elements (Elektra), invented instruments (Totem Contemporain), improvised music (Spatio-Lumino), mixed music (Haimovitz), and electronic (Quasar).

72 Composers from Here and Abroad

MNM 2007 will be the place to take the national and international creative pulse through performances of trendsetting works and several world, North American, and Canadian premieres. MNM has always welcomed prominent players from various cultural centres throughout the world, and this year is no exception, with numerous renowned composers and performers being featured in concert and in conference: Hugues Dufourt (France), Moritz Eggert (Germany), Mauro Lanza (Italy), Philippe Leroux (France), Martin Matalon (Argentina), Manfred Stahnke (Germany), as well as most of today’s Canadian composers.

28 Ensembles, 11 Conductors, 23 Soloists and 700 Musicians

Under the aegis of MNM, a long list of large ensembles and soloists continue to forge new music’s reputation for excellence and vitality. Among the stars at the 2007 edition will be the prestigious Norwegian ensemble Theatre of Voices, founded by Paul Hillier (of the Hilliard Ensemble), who will sing Stockhausen’s Stimmung, first in Montreal and then in Toronto as part of the Soundstreams Festival, while the Castagneri quartet (France) will present a world premiere of a Radio France commission, by Canadian composer Paul Frehner. Canada will be represented by the Continuum ensemble (Toronto) and the Aventa ensemble musicians (Victoria, BC), who will join the Ensemble Contemporain de Montréal (ECM). We are thrilled to have with us again the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM), with violin soloist Alain Giguère, the Ensemble de la SMCQ, and soprano Ingrid Schmithüsen, along with the McGill Contemporary Music Ensemble (CME). To close this year’s edition, the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal will join us for the grand finale, featuring a violin soloist, saxophone quartet, and synchronous film projected on a giant screen, under the direction of Walter Boudreau.

Special Events

For ardent fans of electroacoustic music and cutting-edge technologies, MNM is presenting, in association with the Montreal High Lights Festival, two dazzling evenings at the Society for Arts and Technology: Spatio-Lumino, which brings together Theresa Transistor, Milliseconde Topographie, Réseaux, and Espaces sonores illimités, in collaboration with the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, and Les (nouvelles) boîtes de Pandore! with Matt Haimovitz’s ensemble Ucello and the Quasar saxophone quartet. Two special performances of composer Michelle Boudreau’s new creation will be presented at the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur, and Elektra will present Robot Coop at Usine C for the ‘Nuit Blanche’ event.

Symposium, Masterclasses, Conferences

The Observatoire International de Création Musicale (OICM) in residence at Université de Montréal, under the direction of musicologist Michel Duchesneau, in association with MNM, will host a symposium entitled “Composing in the 21st Century.” Numerous delegates from here and elsewhere will be in attendance over the three days of the symposium. The MNM concerts presented during this time have been specially created to serve as leitmotif to the main theme and to the invited guests. In addition, the renowned Schulich School of Music of McGill University will once again host over a dozen conferences and masterclasses, given by guest composers and performers, whose fascinating talks will set the tone for the thirteen days of musical festivities.

— 30 —
Source: Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ)
Attaché de presse: Alain Labonté communications: 514-523-9922
alain.labonte@videotron.ca

Vive la liberté… libre!

Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques: troisième édition

Communiqué de presse

Montréal, le Mardi 23 janvier 2007 — Du 24 février au 8 mars 2007, la création musicale contemporaine, sous une multitude de formes, de sons et de couleurs, sera à l’honneur lors de la troisième édition du festival international Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques (MNM). Cette année, toute l’attention sera portée sur ce merveilleux éclectisme qu’offre la musique actuelle, à cette liberté de création, tant sur la scène québécoise, canadienne, qu’internationale. Du symphonique à l’acousmatique, de la musique «électro» des plus éclatées au multimédia, en passant par la musique de chambre, vocale et les instruments inventés, les directeurs artistiques Walter Boudreau et Denys Bouliane ont concocté une programmation qui vous en mettra plein la vue, et surtout plein les oreilles, avec de grands ensembles, solistes et orchestres d’ici et d’ailleurs.

Grand rassemblement

MNM 2007 est une production de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec, en partenariat avec l’École de musique Schulich de l’Université McGill, l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Espace musique (Radio-Canada), CBC Radio Two (93.5) et les partenaires associés suivants: le Festival Montréal en Lumières, le Centre de musique canadienne au Québec, les Jeunesses musicales du Canada, le Conservatoire de musique et d’art dramatique de Montréal, la Faculté de musique de l’Université de Montréal, la Société des Arts technologiques (SAT), Elektra, Réseaux, Totem Contemporain, Quasar, Espaces sonores illimités (ESI), le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM), l’Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM), les chanteurs d’Orphée, la Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur et la Fondation Daniel Langlois. Il sera présenté à Montréal, avec des reprises à Toronto et à Paris, grâce aux partenariats de SoundStreams Canada festival et de Radio France.

Grand déploiement

MNM 2007 présentera 26 concerts, 72 compositeurs, 28 ensembles, 11 chefs d’orchestre, 23 solistes, plus de 700 musiciens, un colloque international sur le thème «Composer au XXIe siècle», une performance à la Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur, 7 causeries/conférences et 6 classes de maître. La majorité des concerts seront enregistrés par Radio-Canada et CBC, diffusés sur les deux réseaux, français et anglais, et proposés à l’Union européenne de radio-télévision qui regroupe 55 pays. L’ouverture officielle à la Société des Arts Technologiques est présentée en high light du festival Montréal en Lumières, qui collabore aussi à notre événement grand public réunissant au Palais des Congrès plus de 100 jeunes musiciens pour saluer avec fracas le marathon du Montréal sous-terrain. MNM regroupera plusieurs activités de sensibilisation et de familiarisation: cinq concerts réuniront des étudiants de Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières et Montréal (MNM-Midi), cinq ateliers de création pour les jeunes (Musicolateur) seront présentés avec les Jeunesses musicales du Canada, ainsi qu’un spectacle pour adolescents en pré-première (La Fugue)…

Diversité dans la qualité

Cette année encore, le festival sera l’occasion de répertorier quelques-uns des plus grands compositeurs de notre temps. «Classiques» du genre ou «petits nouveaux» dans le milieu, la porte est ouverte à tous; un seul mot d’ordre: de la diversité dans la qualité! Choisie en fonction d’un public plus large et plus jeune, la thématique du festival tourne autour des œuvres et des compositeurs «délinquants» qui ont fait leur marque grâce à leur forte personnalité, doublée d’un esprit d’indépendance remarquable, comme Stockhausen, Zappa, Hendrix, Xenakis… C’est un thème pour la jeunesse éprise d’audace et de liberté. Certains concerts hybrides ont été privilégiés, intégrant visuel (Elektra), instruments inventés (Totem Contemporain), musique improvisée (Spatio-lumino), musique mixte (Haimovitz) et électronique (Quasar).

72 compositeurs d’ici et de l’étranger

MNM 2007 est l’occasion de prendre le pouls de la création nationale et internationale avec des œuvres marquantes et plusieurs créations mondiales, nord-américaines et canadiennes. Fidèle à sa tradition de recevoir à Montréal des figures importantes des divers foyers culturels internationaux, MNM 2007 accueille plusieurs compositeurs et interprètes éminents pour ses concerts et conférences: Hugues Dufourt (France), Moritz Eggert (Allemagne), Mauro Lanza (Italie), Philippe Leroux (France), Martin Matalon (Argentine) et Manfred Stahnke (Allemagne) et la plupart des compositeurs canadiens.

28 ensembles, 11 chefs d’orchestre, 23 solistes et 700 musiciens

MNM, c’est une kyrielle de grands ensembles et solistes qui continuent à bâtir la réputation d’excellence et de vitalité de la musique nouvelle. Au nombre des participants vedettes pour l’édition 2007, le prestigieux ensemble norvégien Theater of voices, fondé par Paul Hillier (du Hilliard Ensemble) chantera Stimmung de Stockhausen à Montréal puis à Toronto au Soundstreams Festival, alors que le quatuor Castagneri de France donnera en création mondiale une œuvre commandée par Radio France au compositeur canadien Paul Frehner. Le Canada sera représenté par l’ensemble Continuum (Toronto), les musiciens de l’ensemble Aventa (Victoria, BC) qui se joindront à l’Ensemble Contemporain de Montréal (ECM). On retrouvera avec bonheur le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM) avec Alain Giguère comme violon solo, l’Ensemble de la SMCQ et la soprano Ingrid Schmithüsen, de même que l’Ensemble de musique contemporaine de McGill (CME). En clôture de festival, on entendra le grand concert de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, avec violon solo, quatuor de saxophones et film synchrone projeté sur écran géant, sous la direction de Walter Boudreau.

Événements spéciaux

Pour les fervents de «l’électro» et des technologies de pointe, MNM s’est associée au festival Montréal en Lumières pour présenter à la Société des Arts Technologiques (SAT) deux soirées éclatées: Spatio Lumino regroupera Theresa Transistor, Milliseconde Topographie, Réseaux et Espaces sonores illimités en collaboration avec le Conservatoire de musique de Montréal; Les (nouvelles) boîtes de Pandore! avec l’ensemble Ucello de Matt Haimovitz et le quatuor de saxophones Quasar. La compositrice Michelle Boudreau a conçu une performance qui sera présentée deux fois à la Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur; enfin, Elektra présente Robot Coop à l’Usine C pour la Nuit Blanche.

Colloques, classes de maître, conférences

L’Observatoire International de Création Musicale (OICM) en résidence à l’Université de Montréal, sous la direction du musicologue Michel Duchesneau, s’associe à MNM pour présenter son colloque «Composer au XXIe siècle», qui accueillera durant trois jours plusieurs délégués d’ici et de l’étranger. Les concerts MNM durant le Colloque sont conçus pour faire écho à la thématique et aux invités du colloque. De plus, la renommée école de musique Schulich de l’université McGill sera à nouveau l’hôte d’une douzaine de conférences et de classes de maître, offertes par les compositeurs et interprètes invités, et qui rythmeront par leurs passionnantes discussions les treize jours de fête musicale.

— 30 —
Source: Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ)
Attaché de presse: Alain Labonté communications: 514-523-9922
alain.labonte@videotron.ca