Aida Aoun, General Director SMCQ

Photo: Jacques Cabana.

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Aida Aoun as General Director of the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec. Succeeding Pierrette Gingras, she will head the upcoming season of the Montreal/New Music International Festival, the Série Hommage /Tribute Series and the Montreal Series, as well as the SMCQ youth activities.

“Due to her experience in the cultural management field and professionalism, the Board is satisfied that Aida Aoun will enable the SMCQ to successfully continue on its long journey. It is with enthusiasm that the board members unanimously voted to appoint her as general manager, committing their support to this great musical creation adventure.”

Francine Decary, President

“An iron hand in a velvet glove”, for me Aida Aoun has always been an inexhaustible source of wonder and fascination. Since starting to work at the SMCQ some 10 years ago, the team has benefitted from her legendary ability to keep her cool under the worst situations, her office management abilities, and especially her deep commitment to the “mission impossible” that we have set for ourselves, namely to bring “our” music to everyone. Once again, welcome aboard, Captain!

Walter Boudreau, Artistic Director

News posted Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Composing in the Present!

The SMCQ has been moving in step with the lively rhythms of new music for almost fifty years. With its regular concert season, its Série hommage (Homage Series), an international festival, and a young listener’s programme, the society has served both as a platform for today’s composers and as a window on creative works for everyone.

Page nouv@10156 generated in Montréal by litk 0.600 on Monday, April 14, 2014. Development & maintenance: DIM.

Nouvelle saison… Nouvelle direction

Dépêche

Nous sommes heureux d’annoncer la nomination de Aïda Aoun à la direction générale de la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec. Succédant à Pierrette Gingras, elle mènera de front les prochaines éditions du festival Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques, de la Série Hommage et de la Série montréalaise, en plus des activités du volet jeunesse de la SMCQ. Bienvenue à notre nouvelle directrice!

«En raison de son expérience dans le domaine de la gestion culturelle ainsi que son professionnalisme, le conseil d’administration est convaincu que Aïda Aoun permettra à la SMCQ de poursuivre sa longue route avec grand succès. C’est avec enthousiasme que les membres du conseil ont voté à l’unanimité pour sa nomination au poste de direction générale, s’engageant à l’épauler dans la continuation de cette grande aventure pour les musiques de création.»

Francine Décary, présidente

«La «force tranquille» de Aïda Aoun a toujours été pour moi une source intarissable d’émerveillement et de fascination. Depuis les quelques 10 ans qu’elle œuvre à la SMCQ, toute l’équipe a été en mesure de constater son calme légendaire face aux pires situations, sa maîtrise totale des dossiers et plus particulièrement son engagement profond dans la «mission impossible» que nous nous sommes fixés, à savoir mettre «notre»musique à la portée de tous. Re-bienvenue à bord, capitaine!»

Walter Boudreau , directeur artistique

Nouvelle rédigée le Mardi 17 août 2010