SMCQ Youth Celebrates its 20th Anniversary and unveils a new educational platform

News Item

In order to highlight the 20th anniversary of its Youth programme, the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ) has developed a completely new educational platform. Starting on October 25th, this new platform will make it even easier for teachers and families to help children of all ages discover contemporary music.

The platform will be unveiled during the FAMEQ (Federation of Music Educators’ Associations of Québec) conference—an event that will bring the entire music education community together at UQAM, this coming October 25th to the 27th.

A Simple and Accessible Platform: smcq.qc.ca/youth

SMCQ Youth is dedicated to reaching the greatest possible number of children, and to facilitating access to its educational tools: collections of activities geared towards creation, performance and appreciation; audio excerpts; video clips; comic strips; scores for young people and even more.

For the past 20 years, SMCQ Youth has produced shows and mounted educational projects that initiate children and adolescents to the compositional process, and expose them to composers from here and now.

“Over the years, along with SMCQ Youth, we have developed a fantastic educational programme that introduces younger generations of listeners to the great wealth that is our musical repertoire and also stimulates a desire to create with music. With this platform, we offer tools to anyone who wishes to share new music with young people,” explains Walter Boudreau, the SMCQ’s artistic director.

New Technologies — A Boost for Music

The creation of this platform grew out of a study on the current use and potential for new technologies in Canadian music education, practiced in both French and English. The study was commissioned by the SMCQ, and undertaken by techno-pedagogue Lise Galuga and education specialist Serge Demers of Laurentian University.

The study concludes that music classes in both Quebec and the rest of the country are well positioned to access digital resources, with teachers who are “plugged in” and open to the use of technological tools.

Evangelista at the FAMEQ’s Gala Concert

As part of the SMCQ’s Homage Series (a tribute series), a work for young listeners by the composer José Evangelista will be performed at the FAMEQ gala concert. Free for children aged 12 and under.

News posted Monday, October 23, 2017

La SMCQ Jeunesse célèbre ses 20 ans et dévoile sa nouvelle plateforme éducative

Dépêche

Afin de souligner les 20 ans de son volet jeunesse, la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (SMCQ) a développé une toute nouvelle plateforme éducative qui permettra aux enseignants et aux familles, à partir du 25 octobre, de faire découvrir encore plus facilement la musique contemporaine aux enfants de tous âges.

Le dévoilement de la plateforme aura lieu dans le cadre du congrès de la FAMEQ (Fédération des associations de musiciens éducateurs du Québec) qui réunira, du 25 au 27 octobre prochain à l’UQAM, toute la communauté œuvrant autour de l’enseignement de la musique.

Une plateforme simple et accessible: smcq.qc.ca/jeunesse

La SMCQ-Jeunesse a à cœur de rejoindre un plus grand nombre d’enfants et de faciliter l’accès à ses outils éducatifs: des trousses d’activités de création, d’interprétation et d’appréciation, des extraits audio, des capsules vidéo, des bandes dessinées, des partitions jeunesse et plus encore.

Depuis maintenant 20 ans, la SMCQ Jeunesse offre des spectacles et des projets éducatifs permettant aux enfants et aux adolescents d’être initiés à la création musicale, ainsi qu’aux compositeurs d’ici et d’aujourd’hui.

«Au fil des années, nous avons développé avec notre volet jeunesse un programme éducatif fantastique pour faire connaître aux nouvelles générations la richesse de notre répertoire musical et pour stimuler le goût de créer avec la musique. Avec cette plateforme, nous offrons nos outils à toutes les personnes qui désirent partager la musique de création avec les jeunes.», explique Walter Boudreau, directeur artistique de la SMCQ.

Les nouvelles technologies, un plus pour la musique

La réalisation de la plateforme se base sur une étude commandée par la SMCQ aux chercheurs Lise Galuga, technopédagogue, et Serge Demers, PhD, de l’Université Laurentienne, qui portait sur l’utilisation actuelle et potentielle des nouvelles technologies dans l’enseignement de la musique en français et en anglais au Canada.

L’étude conclut que les classes de musique au Québec et dans le reste du pays sont bien positionnées pour accéder à des ressources numériques avec un personnel enseignant bien branché et ouvert à l’utilisation d’outils technologiques.

Evangelista au grand concert de la FAMEQ

Dans le cadre de la Série hommage de la SMCQ, deux œuvres pour les jeunes du compositeur José Evangelista seront présentées lors du grand concert de la FAMEQ. Gratuit pour les 12 ans et moins.

Nouvelle rédigée le Lundi 23 octobre 2017