• Wednesday, July 13, 2016
    The SMCQ youth sector enjoyed a successful year. Les Fonoformies and Le piano muet respectively conquered 877 adult and 1511 children this season. Beginning in October Les Fonoformies will leave at to… Continued
  • Wednesday, July 6, 2016
    Once again the SMCQ will provide workshops to the musical camps of the UdeM, Père Lindsay and — a first — UQÀM. Workshops will explore De Materie by Louis Andriessen, which will also be featured in ou… Continued
  • Wednesday, June 29, 2016
    The Homage Series to John Rea has drawn to a close. To date, this series totaled more than 35 000 attendees for more than 80 concerts and activities. We hope that you shared our enthusiasm and wish to… Continued
  • Wednesday, June 22, 2016
    Our offices (desks) will remain open this summer. However, we will be closed from July 11th through July 24th. We wish you all a beautiful summer while waiting to discover next season’s program! Continued
  • Saturday, May 28, 2016
    After Montréal, we’re heading off to Abitibi-Témiscamingue for Fonoformies with shows in Val d’Or and Rouyn-Noranda. The show will also be presented at the Grand rendez-vous du CQM. La Fugue, will be… Continued
  • Thursday, May 26, 2016
    For the first time, this weekend the SMCQ will be participating in the Montréal Comic Arts Festival, presenting comic strips dedicated to the composers of the Homage Series. On the program: Round ta… Continued
  • Wednesday, May 25, 2016
    To our great pleasure Anik Shooner, president of the SMCQ Board of Directors, has been nominated for this coveted award. This prize acknowledges those who have distinguished themselves through their s… Continued
  • Tuesday, May 17, 2016
    At our final concert in the Homage Series to John Rea, we passed the baton to his successor, José Evangelista, who will be honoured in Homage Series 2017-18. The 6th edition of this biennial event wil… Continued
  • Wednesday, April 27, 2016
    On April 27th, from 1 pm until 2:15 pm the Budding Composers will be performing their creations at the 5e salle de la Place des Arts as part of the All Ears project. Free and opened to the general pub… Continued
  • Wednesday, April 13, 2016
    This month the major Montréal ensembles conclude their tour (Sacrée Landowska!… for ECM+) or their season (NEM closing concert.) On the recital side, at the end of the month Salle Bourgie welcomes pia… Continued
  • Monday, March 21, 2016
    Following a successful initiation to contemporary music to two companies, featuring Las Meninas, animator Michel Frigon will present a workshop on our next major concert, Big Apple Jam. Wo… Continued
  • Monday, March 14, 2016
    The SMCQ Youth Sector shows are still on tour. Following Fonformies (Montréal) La Fugue has been presented in Frankfurt (Germany).… Continued
  • Monday, March 7, 2016
    In the next few weeks, the Homage Series tours Quebec: Sacrée Landowska!… A musical theatre with Catherine Perrin and the ECM+ continues its tour with ECM + and the OSQ has invited John Rea to Quebec City. Then it’s back to Montréal where Ensemble Super… Continued
  • Friday, March 4, 2016
    The Las Meninas recital brought together an audience of 170 for Louise Bessette’s performance. See the photos.… Continued
  • Thursday, February 18, 2016
    Following on the Piano muet tour is our new youth production entitled Fonoformies. Performances are planned during Spring Break at the Grande bibliothèque and in Saint-Laurent. More info… Continued
  • Monday, February 15, 2016
    News: the SMCQ has been presenting workshops at various companies on getting to know contemporary music, focusing on particular works. This month two companies took part in our first workshop featurin… Continued
  • Thursday, February 11, 2016
    This year the SMCQ has sent out 13,000 comic strips to schools participating in the All Ears project, focusing on John Rea. Do you know of any educators who might be interested? Pass on the word befor… Continued
  • Monday, February 8, 2016
    The SMCQ artistic committee is meeting this week to outline the program details for the MNM 2017 festival. The theme is Back to the Future. More info… Continued
  • Monday, February 8, 2016
    The SMCQ is thrilled with the vitality of the music which garnered Opus prizes! Notably, congratulations go out to our partners, the Molinari Quartet (concert of the year,) Quasar Quartet (concert of… Continued
  • Thursday, February 4, 2016
    After January’s Rea marathon the Homage Series descends into darkness with Bradyworks before ressurrecting Sacrée Landowska in a Quebec tour featuring ECM+ and Catherine Perrin. More info on the Homa… Continued
  • Monday, February 1, 2016
    The SMCQ is thrilled that once again Artistic Director Walter Boudreau has received an award, this time from the Conseil des arts et des letters du Québec (CALQ) in the “Career grants for the performi… Continued
  • Monday, January 18, 2016
    Several concerts have already taken place, but more events await you. In January, our accomplices from Quasar will make their saxophones heard during the concert La chèvre de M Rea. Also on the progra… Continued
  • Wednesday, January 13, 2016
    The SMCQ will participate in Contact ontarois, the performing arts marketplace for Ontario francophones. Attending this event will also provide us with the opportunity to participate in the seventh ed… Continued
  • Thursday, January 7, 2016
    The famous composer, theorist and conductor Pierre Boulez has died at the age of 90. Considered as one of the most influential personalities of the musical world, he left a profound imprint on 20th ce… Continued

• Mercredi 13 juillet 2016
    Belle année pour les spectacles jeunesse SMCQ: Les Fonoformies et Le piano muet ont conquis respectivement 877 et 1511 grands et petits cette saison. Fonoformies repartira sur les chapeaux de roue dès… Suite
  • Mercredi 6 juillet 2016
    Cet été encore, la SMCQ donnera des ateliers aux camps musicaux de l’UdeM, du Père Lindsay et — c’est une première — à celui de l’UQÀM. Les ateliers exploreront un mouvement de l’œuvre De Materie de L… Suite
  • Mercredi 29 juin 2016
    La Série hommage à John Rea touche déjà à sa fin. À ce jour, celle-ci a cumulé plus de 35 000 entrées pour plus de 80 concerts et activités. Nous en sommes bien fiers! Nous espérons que vous avez part… Suite
  • Mercredi 22 juin 2016
    Nos bureaux seront fermés cet été du 11 au 24 juillet. Nous vous souhaitons à tous une belle saison estivale en attendant de vous faire découvrir notre programmation de la saison prochaine! Suite
  • Samedi 28 mai 2016
    Après Montréal, direction l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue pour le spectacle Fonoformies avec des dates à Val d’Or (Festival Petits bonheurs) et à Rouyn-Noranda (Festival des guitares du monde). Le spectacle s… Suite
  • Jeudi 26 mai 2016
    Pour la première année, la SMCQ sera présente au Festival de la BD de Montréal cette fin de semaine pour présenter ses bandes dessinées dédiées aux compositeurs de la Série hommage. Au programme: Ta… Suite
  • Mercredi 25 mai 2016
    Nous avons eu le plaisir de voir Anik Shooner, présidente du conseil d’administration de la SMCQ, nominée pour le Prix Arts-Affaires de Montréal, dans la catégorie Personnalité Arts-Affaires. Ce prix… Suite
  • Mardi 17 mai 2016
    Nous avons profité de notre dernier concert, tenu dans le cadre de la Série hommage à John Rea, pour passer le relais à son successeur, qui sera célébré en 2017-18. Nous sommes heureux de vous annonce… Suite
  • Mercredi 27 avril 2016
    Les compositeurs en herbe s’invitent cette année à la 5e salle de la Place des Arts pour interpréter leurs créations composées à l’occasion du Grand jeu. Gratuit et ouvert au grand public, venez les e… Suite
  • Mercredi 13 avril 2016
    Ce mois-ci deux grands ensembles montréalais concluent respectivement leur tournée (Sacrée Landowska!… pour l’ECM+) et leur saison (concert de clôture du NEM) avec Rea au programme. Côté récital, la S… Suite
  • Lundi 21 mars 2016
    Après avoir présenté une première activité d’initiation à la musique contemporaine dans deux entreprises autour de Las Meninas, notre animateur Michel Frigon présentera un atelier lié à notre p… Suite
  • Lundi 14 mars 2016
    Les spectacles Jeunesse de la SMCQ ne s’arrêtent plus de tourner. Après les Fonformies à Montréal c’est La Fugue qu’on a pu entendre à Francfort en Allemagne.… Suite
  • Lundi 7 mars 2016
    Dans les prochaines semaines, la Série hommage traverse le Québec: Sacrée Landowska!… Un théâtre musical avec Catherine Perrin et l’ECM+ continue sa tournée avec l’ECM + et l’OSQ invite Rea à la Ville de Québec. Puis retour à Montréal avec l’entrée en… Suite
  • Vendredi 4 mars 2016
    Le récital Las Meninas a rassemblé 170 personnes autour de Louise Bessette. Voir les photos.… Suite
  • Jeudi 18 février 2016
    Après la tournée du Piano muet, c’est la nouvelle production jeunesse Fonoformies qui va se faire entendre. Prochaines représentations prévues à la Grande bibliothèque et à Saint-Laurent pendant la se… Suite
  • Lundi 15 février 2016
    Nouveauté: la SMCQ donne des ateliers en entreprise afin de faire connaître la musique contemporaine en général et certaines œuvres en particulier. Ce mois-ci, deux sociétés accueillent le premier ate… Suite
  • Jeudi 11 février 2016
    La SMCQ a déjà envoyé 13 000 BD dans les écoles cette année dans le cadre du Grand jeu autour de John Rea. Vous connaissez des professeurs intéressés? Passez le mot avant la rupture de stocks! Plus d… Suite
  • Lundi 8 février 2016
    Le comité artistique SMCQ se réunit cette semaine pour dessiner les grandes lignes de la programmation du festival MNM 2017. Celui-ci a pour thème Retour vers le futur. Plus d’information… Suite
  • Lundi 8 février 2016
    La SMCQ est heureuse de voir la vitalité des musiques nouvelle récompensée aux prix Opus! Félicitations à nos partenaires qui se sont démarqués, notamment le Quatuor Molinari (concert de l’année), Qua… Suite
  • Jeudi 4 février 2016
    Après le marathon Rea de janvier, la Série hommage plonge dans les ténèbres avec Bradyworks avant de redonner vie à la Sacrée Landowska lors d’une tournée québécoise rassemblant l’ECM+ et Catherine Pe… Suite
  • Lundi 1 février 2016
    La SMCQ est heureuse de voir son directeur artistique à nouveau récompensé. Walter Boudreau a en effet reçu une bourse de carrière de la part du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, dans la caté… Suite
  • Lundi 18 janvier 2016
    Déjà de nombreux concerts sont passés, mais il reste encore beaucoup d’événements à découvrir. En janvier, nos complices de Quasar feront entendre leurs saxophones lors du concert La chèvre de M Rea.… Suite
  • Mercredi 13 janvier 2016
    La SMCQ sera présente à Contact ontarois, le marché du spectacle de l’Ontario français. L’occasion également d’assister à la septième édition du FORUM du Réseau canadien pour les musiques nouvelles (R… Suite
  • Jeudi 7 janvier 2016
    Le célèbre compositeur, théoricien et chef d’orchestre Pierre Boulez est décédé à l’âge de 90 ans. Considéré comme l’une des personnalités les plus influentes du monde musical, il a marqué d’une profo… Suite