8 musicians

Premiere: March 3, 2004, MusiMars 2004: Concert 2, Salle Pollack — Pavillon Strathcona — Université McGill, Montréal (Québec)

1. contact, baby; 3. on outset; 5.isn’t it gran(d) et 7. post hoc.

In iNTERtECTURE, Rogers explores various types of intertextuality and influence by almost continuously employing references to pre-existing music. Some references take the form of direct quotation, while others are less transparent. “The work, writes Rogers, is inspired by the remarkable discovery of a mysterious prehistoric document:

In the autumn of 2001, an ancient manuscript was unearthed during an excavation at the Romano-British Villa at Woodchester. The manuscript had been encased between two flat stone slabs and stored in the moist soil beneath the villa’s central hall. The floor of this hall was a grand mosaic depicting the Greek hero Orpheus. It was during the restoration process of this mosaic that the ancient manuscript was found.

The manuscript is thought by many (out of the few who have seen it) to be an example of a hitherto unheard-of music notation. If authenticated, this would be the oldest musical manuscript ever discovered. Carbon dating performed in 2002 dates the manuscript to c.1780 BC.

A copy of the manuscript was sent to me during my time at the Robertson-Helm Institute of Art and Architecture in Simcoe, Ontario. I was asked by the archaeological team who had discovered the manuscript to translate the ancient notation into our current form of music notation, and iNTERtECTURE is the result. The instrumentation and titling were mine to decide; the design is meant to facilitate an understanding of the essence of this ancient music.

Stephen Rogers

Performance

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

8 musiciens

Création: 3 mars 2004, MusiMars 2004: Concert 2, Salle Pollack — Pavillon Strathcona — Université McGill, Montréal (Québec)

1. contact, baby; 3. on outset; 5.isn’t it gran(d) et 7. post hoc.

Dans iNTERtECTURE, Rogers explore différents types d’intertextualité et d’influences en faisant presque continuellement référence à de la musique existante. Certaines références prennent la forme de citations directes alors que d’autres sont plus subtiles. «La pièce, écrit Rogers, est inspirée de la remarquable découverte d’un mystérieux document préhistorique:

À l’automne 2001, on découvrait un manuscrit ancien lors d’une excavation à la villa Romano-British à Woodchester. Le manuscrit était enfoui entre deux dalles de pierre plate dans le sol humide sous la salle principale de la villa. Le plancher de la salle était une imposante mosaïque représentant le héros grec Orphée. C’est au cours du processus de sa restauration que le manuscrit a été découvert.

Nombreux sont ceux qui croient que ce manuscrit (parmi les rares qui l’ont vu) constitue un exemple de notation musicale inconnue jusqu’ici. Si l’authenticité en est établie, il s’agirait du plus ancien manuscrit de musique jamais découvert. Une datation au carbone effectuée en 2002 fait remonter le manuscrit à environ 1780 avant J.-C.

Un exemplaire du manuscrit m’est parvenu au moment où j’étais à la Robertson-Helm Institute of Art and Architecture à Simcoe en Ontario. L’équipe archéologique qui a découvert le manuscrit m’a demandé de traduire l’ancienne notation dans notre forme actuelle de notation musicale, et c’est iNTERtECTURE qui en est ressortie. Il m’incombait de décider de l’instrumentation et de l’intitulé et sa structure vise à faciliter la compréhension de l’essence de cette musique ancienne.

Stephen Rogers

Exécution

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.