16 musicians

The newlyweds’ great joy is a reality of the Kingdom of God, which began before us. Imagination of such joy inspired the conception of this work, which offers various musical expressions of joy—primarily the joy of the wedding and the celebration: “Let us be happy and joyful, and give glory to God, for this is the wedding of the Lamb, and his wife has made herself beautiful; she has been given dazzling white linen in which to clothe herself” (Ap 19, 7-8).

Here, the lack of place is interesting to explore, that is, the possibilities of festive music removed from the actual place of the festivities. Indeed, a classical concert hall does not generally allow the audience to dance and drink, no matter how festive the music being played.

Commissioned by the Chaîne culturelle de Radio-Canada, the piece was performed on May 4, 1999, by the Ensemble contemporain de Montréal. This festive music is dedicated to my parents, Daria and Pierre, to celebrate their 30th wedding anniversary.

Pierre Klanac, 2000

Performance

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

16 musiciens

La grande joie des nouveaux époux est une réalité du Royaume de Dieu, inauguré avant nous. L’imagination de cette joie a donné le souffle nécessaire à la conception de cette oeuvre, qui présente plusieurs «musicalités» de la Joie. Principalement celle des noces et de la fête: «Soyons dans l’allégresse et dans la joie, rendons gloire à Dieu, car voici les noces de l’Agneau, et son épouse s’est faite belle: on lui a donné de se vêtir de lin d’une blancheur éclatante» (Ap 19, 7-8).

Et ici, l’absence du lieu est intéressante à explorer. C’est-à-dire les possibilités d’une musicalité festive décalée du lieu même de la fête. En effet, la nature d’une salle de concert classique ne permet pas, en général, au public de danser et de boire! … même s’il entend une musique proprement festive.

Commande de la Chaîne culturelle de Radio-Canada, créée le 4 mai 1999 par l’Ensemble contemporain de Montréal, cette musique festive dédiée à mes parents, Daria et Pierre pour leurs trente ans de mariage.

Pierre Klanac, 2000

Exécution

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.