chamber orchestra (15 musicians)

A singularity may be understood to be a point at which, say in the world of mathematics, an equation or a surface, etc., explodes and becomes degenerate, a technical term signifying a limiting case whereby an object transforms to become something simpler yet more complex. Just as a point is a degenerate case of a circle whose radius approaches 0, one can imagine a circle as a degenerate form of an ellipse where its eccentricity moves toward 0. In astrophysics, black holes lead to singularities.

A revolutionary view drawn from the world of computer science today maintains that a technological singularity will occur at a point in time (some say as early as the year 2030) where the pace of technological change is so accelerated, its impact so profound, that human life — human time — will be transformed irreversibly. Computers, it is conjectured, will be able to check and rewrite their own programming. The implications for culture and for technology itself will be paradoxically immeasurable and beyond comprehension. The Death of Time? Perhaps. Even so, this view signals a new life for eschatology.

Remarkable “timekeeper” that he was, György Ligeti (1923-2006) distinguished himself by the care he brought in his music to the domain of time. Throughout his career, this singular composer was involved in a rather unique proliferation-in-sound of concepts such as mechanical duration, thought-out duration, time stretching, striated or grooved time, continuous or smooth time, empirical or experiential time, and so forth.

Commissioned by the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne and dedicated to its artistic director, Lorrraine Vaillancourt, Singulari — T pays homage to György Ligeti, expert geometer of sonic realms and resounding time.

[x-15]

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

orchestre de chambre (15 musiciens)

Une singularité dénomme, dans le monde des mathématiques, le point d’où éclate une équation ou une surface, etc. Par conséquent, il devient «dégénéré», un terme technique signifiant un cas restrictif au moyen duquel un objet se transforme en quelque chose de plus simple, pourtant plus complexe. À la manière d’un point qui représente l’instance dégénérative d’un cercle dont le rayon se rapproche de zéro (0), on peut imaginer le cercle en tant que forme dégénérative d’une ellipse dont l’excentricité avance vers zéro. En astrophysique, les trous noirs aboutissent à des singularités.

Une vision révolutionnaire issue du monde de l’informatique d’aujourd’hui affirme qu’une singularité technologique arrivera à un point précis (dans un avenir, dit-on, très rapproché: l’an 2030) où le rythme du changement technologique sera si accéléré, son impact si profond, que la vie humaine — le temps humain — sera transformée irréversiblement. Une conjecture voudra que les ordinateurs soient capables de se vérifier et de se reprogrammer. L’enjeu pour la culture et pour la technologie elle-même sera paradoxalement inestimable et au-delà de notre compréhension. La fin du Temps? Peut-être. Néanmoins, cette vision annonce le début d’une nouvelle eschatologie.

Chronométreur fabuleux, György Ligeti (1923-2006) se distingua par l’attention qu’il portait, dans sa musique, au domaine du temps. Au long de sa carrière, ce compositeur singulier fut engagé dans une mise en pluralité sonore à caractère unique (si vous me permettez cette antithèse) des concepts de la durée mécanique, de la durée raisonnée, du temps espacé, du temps strié, du temps lisse, du temps empirique et ainsi de suite.

Commande du Nouvel Ensemble Moderne dédiée à sa directrice artistique, Lorraine Vaillancourt, Singulari — T rend hommage à György Ligeti, géomètre expert du terrain et du temps sonores.

[x-15]