Inspired by Franz Kafka’s novel The Castle, this installation transports the viewer into a sort of visual maze through a series of projected images, such as architectural blueprints and network topologies. These projected images depict public spaces—cathedrals, auditoriums, prisons, palaces and so on—that are abstractly superimposed one on another, creating a hybrid and constantly changing space. Each animated sequence also triggers an audio fragment, taken from real archive recordings, thus creating a non-linear narrative thread that comes together only to unravel again.

Just as in the novel, the castle motif in Cliche’s work remains elusive since it is only ever seen through partial, subjective reflections. Relying on the plurality of viewpoints, the narrative demonstrates the complexity of human relationships and how each person’s motives affect their perception, an aspect Cliche uses as both a metaphor and the work’s structure.

The inhabited quality of the installation’s soundtrack contrasts with the cold lines of the architectural plans, which are drawn out in front of our very eyes. The time between these two representations belong wholly to the viewer, who forges causal, semantic and narrative relationships with it.

[ii-15]

Performance

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Dans cette installation, une projection fait apparaître des schémas — plans d’architecte ou arborescences réseautiques — qui nous entraînent dans un dédale à l’instar du roman Le Château de Franz Kafka, dont l’artiste s’inspire librement. Les diagrammes réfèrent à des lieux publics — cathédrale, auditorium, prison, palais, etc. — qui se superposent aléatoirement, formant un espace hybride en constante métamorphose. Chaque séquence animée enclenche aussi un fragment sonore, issu d’archives, d’enregistrements réels, créant une trame narrative, non linéaire, qui se fait et se défait.

Dans cette œuvre tout comme dans le roman, le motif du château demeure fuyant puisque l’on ne connaît de lui que des reflets partiels et subjectifs. Misant sur la pluralité des points de vue, le récit témoigne de la complexité des rapports humains où la perception de chacun se colore selon ses motivations et que Cliche reprend comme métaphore et structure.

Dans l’installation, le caractère habité de la trame sonore contraste avec les lignes froides des schémas qui se tracent sous nos yeux. L’intervalle entre ces deux représentations appartient pleinement au spectateur qui y tisse des relations causales, sémantiques et narratives.

[ii-15]

Exécution

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.