8 spatialized French horns and gongs

«With Stasis, I tried to write a piece that opens a space in which there is no more time, a space that offers the possibility of perceiving, in the larger sense, of what is being produced.» The title Stasis, a word originating from ancient Greek that can be translated by «stop» or «period without change», references what will be offered to the public: a contemplation of, an intense concentration on the here and now, on the surrounding (acoustical) space.

Samy Moussa drew his inspiration from elements of different cultures. Among these is the shofar, a ritual instrument used in the Jewish liturgy on the occasion of important religious festivals. The composer was also fascinated by the manuscript of a score from Tibetan music, discovered by chance when he had already begun the composition of Stasis. In this case, it was the visual and not the acoustical aspect that interested him: «My inspiration is rarely of extra-musical origin, but in this case, this score stimulated me in a more concrete manner, profoundly touching me with its beauty. Without knowing what it really meant, and without having the slightest idea of its acoustical result, this manuscript spoke to me».

Stasis was ordered by Bayerische Staatsoper (State Opera of Bavaria) for the Munich ensemble Opera Horns, their horn section. It benefitted from the generous support of the archdiocese of Munich and Freising and from Freunde des Nationaltheaters. Its first performances took place in the framework of the Festspiel-Gottesdienst (Religious Agency of the Opera Festival of Munich, June 2018), and during a concert — during the same festival — with the Orchesterakademie and the Munich Opera Horns under the direction of Samy Moussa.

[English translation: Oliver Haeffly, ii-19]

Performance

  • [Image: Geneviève Bigué]
    Thursday, February 21, 2019

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

8 cors d’harmonie spatialisés et gongs

«Avec Stasis, j’ai tenté d’écrire une pièce qui ouvre un espace dans lequel il n’y a plus de temps, un espace qui offre la possibilité de percevoir, au sens large, ce qui se produit.» Le titre Stasis, un mot issu du grec ancien pouvant être traduit par «arrêt» ou «période sans changement», fait référence à ce qui sera offert au public: une contemplation, une concentration intense sur l’ici et maintenant, sur l’espace (acoustique) environnant.

Samy Moussa a puisé son inspiration dans des éléments de différentes cultures. Parmi eux figure le chofar, un instrument rituel utilisé dans la liturgie juive à l’occasion d’importantes fêtes religieuses. Le compositeur a également été fasciné par le manuscrit d’une partition de musique tibétaine, découvert par hasard alors qu’il avait déjà commencé la composition de Stasis. Dans ce cas, c’est l’aspect visuel, et non acoustique, qui l’intéressait: «Mon inspiration est rarement d’origine extra-musicale, mais dans ce cas, cette partition m’a stimulé d’une manière plus concrète, me touchant profondément par sa beauté. Sans savoir ce qu’il signifiait réellement, et sans avoir la moindre idée de son résultat sonore, ce manuscrit me disait quelque chose».

Stasis est une commande du Bayerische Staatsoper (Opéra d’État de Bavière) pour l’ensemble Munich Opera Horns, leur section de cors. Elle a bénéficié du généreux soutien de l’archidiocèse de Munich et Freising et de l’Association des amis du Théâtre national. Ses premières représentations ont eu lieu dans le cadre du Festspiel-Gottesdienst (Office religieux du Festival d’opéra de Munich, juin 2018), puis lors d’un concert — au cours du même festival — avec l’Orchesterakademie et les Munich Opera Horns sous la direction de Samy Moussa.

Katharina Ortmann pour le Bayerische Staatsoper. [traduction française: traduit de l’allemand par Eugénie Pascal, ii-19]

Exécution

  • [Image: Geneviève Bigué]
    Jeudi 21 février 2019