We’re back! And while we were away the world of music creation kept on spinning. On July 22nd the SOCAN Foundation announced the recipients of the 18th annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers. Among the winners are two members of the SMCQ artistic committee: Maxime McKinley and Nicolas Gilbert. Other winners are Pierre-Marc Beaudoin, Aaron Gervais, Roger Feria Jr., Charles-Antoine Fréchette, Pierre-Olivier Roy, Félix Frédéric Baril, Taylor Brook, Trevor Grahl, Christian David Berube, Eugene Astapov Luke Nickel, Laperriere and Gabriel Dufour Émilie Payeur. Our heartiest congratulations to all!

News written by Isabelle Picard and posted on Tuesday, August 25, 2009.