Performer • Author

The Winnipeg Boys’ Choir is an auditioned group dedicated to high-quality music making and vocal training in a convivial atmosphere. Under the direction of Carolyn Boyes (Treble Chorus) and Spencer Duncanson (Senior Chorus), young singers learn the deep enjoyment that comes from working hard and achieving excellence as they rehearse and perform music of all types, in many languages, with a wide range of expression. Founded in 1925, the Winnipeg Boys’ Choir is the second oldest choral ensemble in Winnipeg, and probably the oldest freestanding boys’ choir in Canada.

From the start, the choir began to disprove the odd notion that for “some unexplained reason, climatic or otherwise, boys’ voices could not be properly developed in the west.” (The Winnipeg Tribune, 6 October 1934). It remains an ideal place to nurture young male voices as they sing their way from developing treble through the voice change and beyond, to become strong tenors and basses ready to move on to adult choirs.

The choir performs regularly with the city’s finest professional and amateur ensembles, including the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Winnipeg Ballet, and Dead of Winter (formely Camerata Nova).

[xi-22]

Interprète • Auteur·ice

The Winnipeg Boys’ Choir est dédié à la création musicale et à la formation vocale de haute qualité dans une atmosphère conviviale. Sous la direction de Carolyn Boyes (Treble Chorus) et Spencer Duncanson (Senior Chorus), les jeunes chanteurs apprennent le plaisir profond qui vient de travailler dur et d’atteindre l’excellence en répétant et en interprétant de la musique de tous types, dans de nombreuses langues, avec une large gamme d’expression. Fondé en 1925, le Winnipeg Boys’ Choir est le deuxième ensemble choral le plus ancien de Winnipeg et probablement le plus ancien chœur de garçons autonome au Canada.

Dès le début, la chorale a commencé à réfuter la fausse idée que pour “”une raison inexpliquée, climatique ou autre, les voix des garçons ne pouvaient pas être correctement développées en Occident””. (The Winnipeg Tribune, 6 octobre 1934). La chorale reste un endroit idéal pour former les jeunes voix masculines lorsqu’elles muent en passant des aigus aux graves et au-delà, pour devenir des ténors et des basses solides prêts à passer aux chœurs d’adultes.

Le chœur se produit régulièrement avec les meilleurs ensembles professionnels et amateurs de la ville, dont l’Orchestre symphonique de Winnipeg, le Royal Winnipeg Ballet et Dead of Winter (anciennement Camerata Nova).

[xi-22]