Play audio clip

string orchestra

Commission: Vancouver New Music

To Giorgio Magnanensi

Réfraction was commissioned by Vancouver New Music for a conceptual concert on “Song”. The fundamental quality of a song is its lyrical potential. In Réfraction, I explore lyricism not through melody but through color and texture.

In the phenomenon of refraction, the direction of propagation of a sound or light wave, its medium shifts, is exceptionally dynamic. The exploration of a wide variety of colors is rendered by the string orchestra with the simple rubbing of the bow on the strings and via pizzicato, vibrato, tremolo and natural and artificial harmonics. The rapid succession of these techniques allowed me to explore the complexity of refraction and to express the surprising and lyrical poetry of its textures.

This work is constructed from a simple chord progression, without modulation, interspersed with unisons and octaves. The basic material is present throughout the work, but the variations and transformations are unpredictable.

Réfraction seeks to express an unsentimental music that aspires to the beauty that is simply expressed in nature.

In 2018 it was selected for the Canadian section of the International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM) in Beijing, China.

Performance

Jouer l’extrait audio

orchestre à cordes

Commande: Vancouver New Music

À Giorgio Magnanensi

Réfraction est une commande du Vancouver New Music, pour un concert-conceptautour du thème de la «Chanson». Or, la qualité fondamentale d’une chanson est son potentiel lyrique. Dans Réfraction, j’explore le lyrisme non pas à travers la mélodie mais avec la couleur et la texture.

Dans le phénomène de réfraction, la direction de la propagation d’une onde sonore ou lumineuse, lorsqu’elle change de support, est exceptionnellement dynamique. L’exploration d’une grande variété de couleurs est rendue par l’orchestre à cordes avec le simple frottement de l’archet sur les cordes et avec l’utilisation du pizzicato, du vibrato, du trémolo et des harmoniques naturelles et artificielles. La succession rapide de ces techniques m’a permis d’explorer la complexité du phénomène de la réfraction et d’y exprimer la poésie surprenante et lyrique de ses textures.

Cette œuvre est construite à partir d’une progression d’accords simples, sans modulation, parsemée d’unissonset d’octaves. Le matériau de base est présent tout au long de la pièce mais les variations et transformations sont imprévisibles.

Réfraction cherche à exprimer une musique non sentimentale qui aspire à cette beauté que la nature porte tout simplement en elle.

Elle a été sélectionnée en 2018 pour la section canadienne du International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM) à Beijing, Chine.

Exécution